ATP Tour Finals in London 2013: The Countdown

The 2013 ATP Tour Finals are the culmination of the ATP Tour tournament calendar, where The ATP Tour champion (year-end World No.1) will be crowned during an illustrious on-court presentation at at London’s O2 Arena.

The official name of the ATP Tour Finals due to title sponsorship naming rights is the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals.

Get ATP tickets to London so you can see the biggest names in world tennis battle it out for the fifth year running at the O2 Arena -. the 2013 tournament is the 44th year of the event, which runs from the 4th-11th November.

Find tickets on StubHub to the other great events as the best players in the world race to secure one of the eight coveted spots in the Finals.

The 2012 men’s singles champion was Novak Djokovic who defeated 6-time champion Roger Federer in the final 7-6 (8-6), 7-5 to win his second year-end championships singles title (the first was in 2008). This year the  ATP Tour Finals trophy (pictured above) will be renamed, “The Brad Drewett Trophy” in memory of the ATP Executive Chairman and President who passed away on the 3rd of May this year.

Last year, Djokovic highlighted how challenging the ATP tournament is, and it’s high degree of difficulty when compared to other tournaments “Obviously everybody agrees that this tournament is a crown for all the achievements of the year. Every match that you’re playing is at probably the highest level in our sport, then you have to be on top of your game to win it. Everyone wants to finish the season in great style, that’s what makes this event even more competitive.”

As at 8 July 2013 the leaders in the race for the final seven spots in London are:

1) 7,010 – Rafael Nadal qualified on June 10 after winning Roland Garros
2) 6,230 – Novak Djokovic*
3) 5,160 – Andy Murray*
4) 4,440 – David Ferrer
5) 2,775 – Tomas Berdych
6) 2,515 – Roger Federer
7) 2,445 – Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
8) 2,370 – Juan Martin Del Potro

9) 2,150 – Stanislas Wawrinka
10) 1,855 – Richard Gasquet

*Djokovic and Murray have unofficially qualified for the 2013 ATP Tour Finals. Any Grand Slam singles champion during the calendar year who finishes the season ranked in the Top 20 qualifies for the Tour Finals. Each already holds an aggregate of over 5,000 ATP points, this makes it is impossible for the Wimbledon finalists to finish outside the Top 20.

© photo credit: HEAD Tennis