Canada 2010 Men’s 1st Round

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:emmett.hume

The 2010 Canadian Open men’s main draw singles matches will begin on Monday 9 August at 11am local time in Toronto. There are 56 main draw spots divided up between 7 Qualifiers (Q), 4 Wild Cards (WC), 44 Direct Acceptances and 1 Special Entry (SE). The 2010 Rogers Cup in Canada is the 6th of the 9 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments each year and the 9th major tournament in men’s tennis this year.

Only the Top 8 seeded players have a BYE in the 1st round, whilst seeds 9 to 16 must play in the 1st round. The Top 8 seeds await the 24 winners of the 1st round matches.

The 2010 Rogers Cup men’s singles match-ups for the seeded players, if they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • (1) Rafael Nadal versus (16) Sam Querrey
  • (11) Marin Cilic v. (8) Andy Roddick
  • (4) Andy Murray v. (15) Gael Monfils
  • (10) David Ferrer v. (5) Robin Soderling

Which are the match ups for the top half of the draw. In the bottom half of the draw, the players who are seeded to meet are:

  • (7) Tomas Berdych v. (12) Mikhail Youzhny
  • (14) Nicolas Almagro v. (3) Roger Federer
  • (6) Nikolay Davydenko v. (9) Fernando Verdasco
  • (13) Jurgen Melzer v.(2) Novak Djokovic

The player’s name that is bolded in the 1st round singles draw below is OCA’s prediction of who will win each match. Where there is a Qualifier, no prediction is made because it depends which player will take that spot. Once the qualifying is finalised, we will update which players go into the above spots reserved for qualifiers.

The 2010 Rogers Cup men’s singles draw for the 1st round is:

  1. (1) Nadal v. BYE
  2. (WC) Frank Dancevic v. Stanislas Wawrinka
  3. Leonardo Mayer v. Qualifier
  4. Qualifier v. (16) Querrey
  5. (11) Cilic v. Viktor Troicki
  6. Janko Tipsarevic v. Philipp Kohlschreiber
  7. (WC) Pierre-Ludovic Duclos v. Qualifier
  8. BYE v. (8) Roddick
  9. (4) Murray v. BYE
  10. (SE) Xavier Malisse v. Michael Berrer
  11. Feliciano Lopez v. Thiemo De Bakker
  12. Fernando Gonzalez v. (15) Monfils
  13. (10) Ferrer v. David Nalbandian
  14. Tommy Robredo v. Qualifier
  15. Ernests Gulbis v. Thomaz Bellucci
  16. BYE v. (5) Soderling
  17. (7) Berdych v. BYE
  18. Sergiy Stakhovsky v. Richard Gasquet
  19. Alexandr Dolgopolov v. Philipp Petzschner
  20. Gilles Simon v. (12) Youzhny
  21. (14) Almagro v. Qualifier
  22. Michael Llodra v. Santiago Giraldo
  23. Juan Ignacio Chela v. Alejandro Falla
  24. BYE v. (3) Federer
  25. (6) Davydenko v. BYE
  26. Qualifier v. Radek Stepanek
  27. Marcos Baghdatis v. Jeremy Chardy
  28. Eduardo Schwank v. (9) Verdasco
  29. (13) Melzer v. (WC) Peter Polansky
  30. Victor Hanescu v. (WC) Milos Raonic
  31. Qualifier v. Julien Benneteau
  32. BYE v. (2) Djokovic

In a strong show of support by Tennis Canada, all 4 wild cards into the main draw of the men’s singles event went to Canadians including, World No.368 Frank Dancevic, No.328 Pierre-Ludovic Duclos, No.200 Peter Polansky and No.209 Milos Raonic. The last direct acceptance into the main draw was Alejandro Falla of Columbia at World No.60.

Pictured above is 29 year old Nikolay Davydenko in position and swinging his racquet towards the ball for this forehand ground stroke. The 1.78m Davydenko from Russia made it to the quarter finals in Canada last year before losing to eventual champion, Andy Murray.

The current World No.6 has won 4 ATP Tour Masters titles, 3 of which where on hard courts. He won the 2006 Paris Open indoors on carpet, the 2008 Miami Open, the 2009 China Open in Shanghai and the 2009 ATP Tour Finals in London. Davydenko will be looking to perform very well on the hard courts over the next couple of months, so that he can qualify for the ATP Tour Finals again to defend his title.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about the Canadian Open. Click this link for more details about both the men’s and women’s singles events including the schedules of play -> Canada 2010: August 7-22.

© 2010