Canada 2010 Men’s Singles Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:Christian Mesiano

The ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournament in Canada will be held at the Rexall Centre at York University in Toronto. What was formerly known as the Canadian Open or Canada Masters is now called The Rogers Cup. The 2010 Rogers Cup will be held in Toronto this year.

The men’s tournament begins on Saturday 7 August with the qualifying singles and runs for 9 days, concluding with the Men’s Singles Final on Sunday 15 August at 1:30pm local time in Toronto. Each year this event alternates where it is held in Canada between Toronto and Montreal. This tournament was first held in 1881, so is the 3rd the longest running tournament in tennis history after Wimbledon and the US Open.

The draw for the men’s qualifying singles draw will be available on Friday 6 August and the men’s main singles draw will be drawn on Saturday 7 August. As soon as these draws are available we will post them in here our coverage of the 2010 Rogers Cup singles events in Canada.

Last year No.3 seed Andy Murray won the Rogers Cup in Montreal singles championship for the 1st time and in doing so, became the first British man to win this title. Murray defeated No.6 seed Juan Martin del Potro in the final 6-7 (4-7), 7-6 (7-3), 6-1 in 2 hours and 17 minutes after being only 3 points away from being defeated in straight sets. Murray earned 1000 ATP ranking points whilst del Potro collected 600 points.

The 2009 Rogers Cup semi finalists were No.5 seed Andy Roddick who lost to del Potro and No.7 seed Jo-Wilfried Tsonga who was defeated by Murray. In the quarter finals Tsonga knocked out No.1 seed Roger Federer, Murray beat No.8 seed Nikolay Davydenko, Roddick defeated No.4 seed Novak Djokovic and del Potro upset No.2 seed Rafael Nadal. Tsonga is pictured above right at the contact point between the ball and his racquet during his service action.

ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments have varying sized main draws. The Indian Wells Open and the Miami Open have the largest draws with 96 spots, whilst the Paris Open has the smallest draw with 48. The remaining 6 Masters 1000 tournaments all have a 56-player draw, including the Canadian Open in Toronto.

In a 56-player draw there are 16 seeded players and they will be selected according to the ATP rankings on the final Monday before this event commences. This year the seeding will be based on the ATP Tour rankings as at 2 August 2010. 44 of the 56 main draw spots are allocated to direct acceptances. The direct acceptances are the highest 44 ranked players on the cut-off date. This year the cut-off was the ATP Rankings on June 21 2010. Spain has the most players in the men’s singles draw with 9. To date, the only player from the Top 44 who will not be playing is the injured del Potro.

The remaining 12 spots in the main draw are allocated from these 3 categories: wild card entrants (WC), qualifiers (Q) and special entry (SE). Qualifiers earn 7 of the 12 spots, 4 spots are given to wild cards at the discretion of Tennis Canada and the final spot is saved for a special entry. The special entry will most likely be David Nalbandian of Argentina, who has a protected ranking of No.15 due to his injury problems.

The men’s qualifying event is a mini knock out tournament consisting of 28 players. Only 7 players who each win 2 matches in a row will “qualify” for the main draw. The 4 wild cards to be selected by Tennis Canada and the details for the qualifying event, will be updated here in our coverage of the 2010 Rogers Cup as they are announced. Last year Tennis Canada showed a strong support for local players by selecting 4 Canadians to receive all 4 main draw singles wild cards and all 4 wild cards into the qualifying singles draw.

In 2009 Tennis Canada chose the following players for the main draw wild cards – Frank Dancevic, Bruno Agostinelli, Frederic Niemeyer and Peter Polansky. Niemeyer and Polansky were the only 2 locals to win a round, so will most likely be rewarded with another wild card this year, as to will Milos Raonic.

Raonic was the only local to qualify and he performed especially well in the 1st round as well, before losing 4-6 in the final set against Fernando Gonzalez. Raonic received a wild card into the qualifying, as did Pavel Krainik, Pierre-Ludovic Duclos and Vasek Pospisil.

Just like last year, all of the Canadian players will be relying on a wild card to gain entry into Toronto. This is because nobody has a high enough ranking to gain direct entry into the singles main draw or the qualifying singles draw. There are 16 Canadian men who hold an ATP Ranking so they each have a 1 in 2 chance to receive a wild card.

The following is a list of those 16 Canadian men in order of 1st to 16th. The number in brackets is each player’s ranking as at July 12 2010 – Peter Polansky World No.195, Milos Raonic No.276, Frank Dancevic 281, Vasek Pospisil 307, Pierre-Ludovic Duclos 315, Philip Bester 456, Steven Diez 480, Frederic Niemeyer 496, Erik Chvojka 595, Chris Klingemann 887, Bruno Agostinelli 1,021, Milan Pokrajac 1,441, Panav Jha 1,529, Daniel Chu 1,677, Mo Niaki 1,677 and Mathieu Thibaudeau 1,677.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of both the men’s (Toronto) and women’s (Montreal) events in Canada. Click this link the details thus far -> Canada 2010: August 7 – 22

© 2010


  1. Hi there, I found this blog once, then lost it. Took me forever to arrive back and find it. I wanted to view what comments you got. Excellent blog by the way.

Comments are closed.