Canadian Open 2012 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round

The 2012 Canadian Open men’s main draw singles 1st round matches begin on Monday 6 August at 11am local time in Toronto, Canada. The Canadian Open in Toronto has 56 players vying for this prestigious ATP Tour Masters 1000 title, the trophy, a maximum of 1,000 ATP ranking points and US$ 552,500 for the winner.

The Toronto 64-sized main draw is divided up between 8 Byes, 6 Qualifiers [Q], 3 Wild Cards [WC], 1 Special Entry [SE], 1 Lucky Loser [LL] and 46 Direct Acceptances. The Top 16 ranked players amongst the 45 Direct Acceptances become the seeds. The 16 seeds ranged in rankings from World No.1 and defending Canadian Open champion Novak DJOKOVIC through to No.23 and local favourite Milos RAONIC.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. To watch the tennis in Singapore you need to add 12 hours to the local time in Toronto to work out the equivalent Singapore time for the daily 2012 Canadian Open Order of Play.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • Novak DJOKOVIC [1] v [13] Kei NISHIKORI
  • Gilles SIMON [9] v [6] Juan Martin DEL POTRO
  • Jo-Wilfried TSONGA [3] v [15] Florian MAYER
  • Marin CILIC [10] v [5] Janko TIPSAREVIC

The seeded match ups for the bottom half of the draw are:

  • Juan MONACO [7] v [11] Mardy FISH
  • Richard GASQUET [14] v [4] Tomas BERDYCH
  • John ISNER [8] v [12] Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER
  • Milos RAONIC [16] v [2] Andy MURRAY

The 2012 Canadian Open men’s singles draw is:

  1. Novak DJOKOVIC [1] v BYE
  2. Michael BERRER [Q] v Bernard TOMIC
  3. Sam QUERREY [SE] v Jurgen MELZER
  4. BYE v [13] Kei NISHIKORI
  5. Gilles SIMON [9] v BYE
  6. Tommy HAAS v David NALBANDIAN
  7. Radek STEPANEK v Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV
  8. BYE v [15] Juan Martin DEL POTRO
  9. Jo-Wilfried TSONGA [3] v BYE
  10. Jeremy CHARDY v Donald YOUNG
  11. Sergiy STAKHOVSKY [Q] v Marcel GRANOLLERS
  12. BYE v [15] Florian MAYER
  13. Marin CILIC [10] v BYE
  14. Carlos BERLOCQ v Marcos BAGHDATIS
  15. Kevin ANDERSON v Mikhail YOUZHNY
  16. BYE v [5] Janko TIPSAREVIC

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Juan MONACO [7] v BYE
  2. Vasek POSPISIL [WC v Andreas SEPPI
  3. Peter POLANSKY [WC] v [LL] Matthew EBDEN
  4. BYE v [11] Mardy FISH
  5. Richard GASQUET [14] v BYE
  6. Mikhail KUKUSHKIN v [WC] Frank DANCEVIC
  7. Wayne ODESNIK [Q] v Julien BENNETEAU
  8. BYE v [4] Tomas BERDYCH
  9. John ISNER [8] v BYE
  10. Pablo ANDUJAR v Lukas LACKO
  11. LU Yen-Hsun v [Q] Fabio FOGNINI
  12. BYE v [12] Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER
  13. Milos RAONIC [16] v BYE
  14. Alex BOGOMOLOV JR v Viktor TROICKI
  15. Flavio CIPOLLA [Q] v [Q] Jurgen ZOPP
  16. BYE v [2] Andy MURRAY

Photo credit: mbevis

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Canada 2012 Men’s Singles Draw | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!
  2. Canadian Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!
  3. Canadian Open 2012 Order of Play | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.