Canadian Open Tennis 2013

Canadian Open Tennis logoThe 2013 Canadian Open tennis championships are one of the “Big 14” major tournaments on both the men’s and women’s tours. Montreal is the sixth of of the nine ATP Tour Masters 1000 tournaments in 2013, whereas the women’s championships in Toronto are the sixth of the nine major Premier category tournaments in 2013.

OnCourt Advantage makes it easier for YOU to find the information you are looking for by listing each web page related to the Canadian Open below.

Click this link for information on how to buy your Official 2013 Canadian Open tennis tickets for the women’s tournament in Toronto and the men’s tournament in Montreal. The Canadian Open is the third longest running tennis tournament in history after Wimbledon and the US Open and is run by Tennis Canada. The men’s event began in 1881 and the women’s in 1892.

In odd numbered years like this year the men play in Montreal and the the women play in Toronto and in even numbered years it is the opposite. The Toronto tournament venue is the Rexall Centre at York University and the Montreal venue is in Quebec at the Uniprix Stadium. The court surface is Deco Turf hard courts, the centre court seating capacity in Montreal is 11,715 and the Toronto centre court has seating for 8,000.

The 2013 edition of this tournament runs  from the first day of qualifying on Saturday 3 August through to the Singles Final Day on  Sunday 11 August. The qualifying events are held on Saturday and Sunday August 3 and 4, with the main draw singles events commencing on Monday 5 August. 

The 2012 women’s singles champion was No.5 seed Petra Kvitova who defeated No.10 seed Li Na in the final 7-5, 2-6, 6-3 to become the ninth straight different women’s champion. The 2012 singles champion was No.1 seed Novak Djokovic who won back-to-back Canadian Open titles by defeating No.14 seed Richard Gasquet in the final 6-3, 6-2.

  1. Canadian Open Tennis 2012
  2. Canadian Open 2011
  3. Canadian Open 2010