Cincinnati 2010 Men’s Qualifiers

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:Christian Mesiano

The 2010 Cincinnati Open men’s qualifying singles event has been completed. The qualifying began on Saturday 14 August with 28 players battling for the 7 spots allocated to qualifiers in the main draw of the singles event.

Players needed to win 2 matches in a row over 2 days in order to earn a spot in the main draw. Of the Top 7 seeds in the qualifying 4 of these players who were seeded to qualify won through. The remaining 3 qualifiers were 2 seeded players No.10 and No.13 plus unseeded Somdev Devvarman from India, which means just one American player who through to the main draw, Taylor Dent.

Pictured above is Tomas Berdych Djokovic just prior to making contact with the ball for this double handed backhand ground stroke. The 1.96m Czech made the quarter finals at Cincinnati last year to record his best career result at Cincinnati, before being knocked out by Rafael Nadal. The 24 year old Berdych is having his best year of his career by recording personal best results pretty much everywhere he plays, so watch out for Berdych this week and at the US Open!

The player’s whose names are bolded in the list below are the 7 players who have qualified for the men’s singles main draw. The highest ranked player to lose in the final round of qualifying was No.5 seed Jarkko Nieminen. Therefore, Nieminen would be the first player to take a spot in the main draw as a Lucky Loser if any player withdraws from the tournament BEFORE playing his 1st round match. The next player in line is No.11 seed Arnaud Clement. A player must sign-in at the time specified by the tournament management to be eligible for any possible Lucky Loser spot.

The results in the final round of the 2010 Cincinnati Open men’s qualifying singles event are:

  1. (1) Golubev Fabio Fognini lost to (10) Benjamin Becker 6-7 (1-7), 1-6
  2. (2) Florian Mayer defeated (14) Michael Russell 5-7, 6-1, 6-3
  3. (3) Denis Istomin def. (12) Simon Greul 6-2, 7-6 (11-9)
  4. (4) Santiago Giraldo def. (13) Florent Serra 5-7, 6-2, 6-4
  5. (5) Jarkko Nieminen lost to (13) Taylor Dent 7-6 (9-7), 2-6, 4-6
  6. (6) Alejandro Falla def. (11) Arnaud Clement 6-4 7-5
  7. (7) Chiudinelli Somdev Devvarman defeated (WC) Tim Smyczek (9) Marchenko 6-3 6-2

These qualifiers will play the following players in the 1st round of the main draw: Becker versus Thomaz Bellucci, Mayer v. Jeremy Chardy, Istomin v. (WC) James Blake, Giraldo v. (13) Jurgen Melzer, Dent v. Feliciano Lopez, Falla v. (16) Gael Monfils and Devvarman v. (WC) Robby Ginepri.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Cincinnati including the schedule of play -> Cincinnati 2010: August 7-22.

© 2010

Share this link!