Cincinnati 2010 Men’s Qualifying Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:swampa

The 2010 Cincinnati Open men’s qualifying singles event begins today – Saturday 14 August at 10am local time in Cincinnati. The qualifying event will be completed on Sunday 15 August. The qualifying matches are best of 3 tie-break sets. The final set is NOT an advantage set so is decided by a tie-break at 6 games all, just like the final set at the US Open tournament is.

There are 28 spots in the qualifying draw of which 4 were wild cards and 22 direct acceptances. The other 2 spots in the qualifying draw went to one Alternate (ALT) and one Protected Ranking (PR), which means that 2 players who were directly accepted into the qualifying have withdrawn. The ALT position goes to the highest ranked players who are at the venue and sign-in for an alternate position. Often these spots go to locals who are on at the tournament site already. This is because players do not fly from around the world to the tournament when they did not make the initial cut-off into that particular tournament.

The last direct acceptance into the qualifying draw was Ramon Delgado of Paraguay who was ranked at No.137 at the cut-off date. A seeded player occupies one of every 2 spots in the draw. There are 14 seeds in the qualifying which means that the highest 14 ranked players at the cut-off date are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round”.

The Qualifying Round is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. At the Cincinnati Open or Western and Southern Financial Group Masters in Cincinnati there are 7 spots in the main draw of the men’s singles event allocated for qualifiers. OCA will be following the Cincinnati Open including the qualifying results, so visit here regularly and ask any questions you would like to know about this tournament or anything about tennis.

There are 8 American men in the qualifying draw, 2 seeded players – World No.81 Taylor Dent and No.82 Michael Russell, direct acceptance No.116 Ryan Sweeting and alternate No.151 Rajeev Ram. The other 4 Americans received wild cards in a strong show of support by the USTA for local players. The 4 wild cards went to: World No.186 Jesse Witten, No.258 Bobby Reynolds, No.1,103 Devin Britton and No.206 Tim Smyczek.

A direct acceptance who loses in the 1st round receives 10 ATP ranking points. This is despite the fact that the tournament states that a qualifier who loses in the 1st round will be awarded 25 ATP ranking points when in actual fact, they have been awarded 35 points in their current rankings.

The players, who lose in the 1st round of qualifying earn 1,000 US dollars and DO NOT receive any ATP ranking points. The players who win through to the 2nd round of qualifying but are then defeated, earn 2,000 US dollars and 16 ATP ranking points, which is more than a player receives who is directly accepted into the main draw and then loses his 1st round match.

Players who qualify for the main draw will earn a minimum of 8,500 US dollars and 25 ATP ranking points for winning through the qualifying singles event into the main singles draw, PLUS a further 10 ATP ranking points if they are defeated in the 1st round of the main draw. That means they received 3.5 times the amount that a direct acceptance receives when he loses his 1st round match, as the direct acceptance earns 10 ATP ranking point for a 1st round loss. Do you think that is a fair way to allocate points?

The seeds do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of the qualifying event. All players must win 2 matches in a row in order to qualify. The qualifying draws are different to main draws because these events do not play off until there is one undefeated player. Therefore, the No.1 seed and the No.2 seed are not separated at the opposite ends of the draw.

The Top 14 seeds in the main draw of qualifying have ALL been separated from each other as they are seeded to be the players who do qualify. All 14 seeds are just listed down the draw. The 14 seeds are bolded in the draw below.

Pictured above is Rafael Nadal after making contact with the ball during his service motion. The 24 year old Spaniard made the semi finals in Cincinnati last year and in doing so equalled his best result in Cincinnati. In both of those semi finals he was beaten by Novak Djokovic.

The 1.85m Nadal is the record holder of the most Masters 1000 singles titles won. So far the World No.1 has amassed 18 of these major titles including all 3 of the Masters 1000 clay court titles. The left hander will be looking to add the major tournaments to his collection that he not already won in the next few months: Cincinnati, US Open, China Open, Paris Open and the ATP Tour Finals. Nadal will have to wait until next year to claim the only other major title that has eluded him, the Miami Open.

The draw for the 2010 Cincinnati Open Men’s qualifying singles event is:

  1. (1) Andrey Golubev versus Fabio Fognini
  2. (PR) Gilles Muller v. (10) Benjamin Becker
  3. (2) Florian Mayer v. Andreas Beck
  4. (WC) Jesse Witten v. (14) Michael Russell
  5. (3) Denis Istomin v. (WC) Bobby Reynolds
  6. (ALT) Rajeev Ram v. (12) Simon Greul
  7. (4) Santiago Giraldo v. Marsel Ilhan
  8. (WC) Devin Britton v. (13) Florent Serra
  9. (5) Jarkko Nieminen v. Ryan Sweeting
  10. Go Soeda v. (13) Taylor Dent
  11. (6) Alejandro Falla v. Grega Zemlja
  12. Ramon Delgado v. (11) Arnaud Clement
  13. (7) Marco Chiudinelli v. Somdev Devvarman
  14. (WC) Tim Smyczek v. (9) Illya Marchenko

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Cincinnati including the schedule of play -> Cincinnati 2010: August 7-22.

© 2010