Cincinnati 2010 Men’s Singles Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:mbevis

The ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournament in Cincinnati will be held at the Lindner Family Tennis Center in Mason, Ohio in the USA. What was formerly known as the Cincinnati Open or Cincinnati Masters is now called the Western and Southern Financial Group Masters (W&SFGM).

The men’s tournament begins on Saturday 14 August with the qualifying singles and runs for 9 days, concluding with the Men’s Singles Final on Sunday 22 August at 1:30pm local time in Cincinnati. This tournament was first held in 1899 and is the oldest tournament in the USA that is still played in its original city.

The draw for the men’s qualifying singles draw will be available on Friday 13 August and the men’s main singles draw will be drawn on Saturday 14 August. As soon as these draws are available we will post them in here our coverage of the 2010 W&SFGM singles events in Cincinnati.

Last year No.1 seed Roger Federer won the Cincinnati singles championship for the third time to collect his 16th Masters 1000 title and his most recent Masters 1000 title. Federer defeated No.4 seed Novak Djokovic in the final 6-1 7-5 in 1 hour and 31 minutes to earn 1000 ATP ranking points whilst Djokovic collected 600 points.

The 2009 Cincinnati semi finalists were No.2 seed Rafael Nadal who lost to Djokovic and No.3 seed Andy Murray who was defeated by Federer. In the quarter finals Federer beat Lleyton Hewitt, Djokovic knocked out No.9 seed Gilles Simon, Murray defeated Lucky Loser Julien Benneteau and Nadal took out Tomas Berdych.

Federer is pictured above preparing to play a backhand volley, the former World No.1 is always at his best when he is focused on moving forward to pressure his opponents with his approach shots and close out points at the net.

ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments have varying sized main draws. The Indian Wells Open and the Miami Open have the largest draws with 96 spots, whilst the Paris Open has the smallest draw with 48. The remaining 6 Masters 1000 tournaments all have a 56-player draw, including the Cincinnati Open. In a 56-player draw there are 16 seeded players and they will be selected according to the ATP rankings on the final Monday before this event commences.

This year the seeding will be based on the ATP Tour rankings as at 9 August 2010. 45 of the 56 main draw spots are allocated to direct acceptances. The direct acceptances are the highest 45 ranked players on the cut-off date. This year the cut-off was the ATP Rankings on July 15 2010. Spain has the most players in the men’s singles draw with 9.

The remaining 11 spots in the main draw are allocated from these 2 categories: wild card entrants (WC) and qualifiers (Q). Qualifiers earn 7 of the 11 spots, 4 spots are given to wild cards at the discretion of United States Tennis Association (USTA). The men’s qualifying event is a mini knockout tournament consisting of 28 players. Only 7 players who each win 2 matches in a row will “qualify” for the main draw.

The 4 wild cards selected by the USTA and the details for the qualifying event, will be updated here in our coverage of the 2010 W&SFGM as they are announced. Last year the USTA showed a strong support for local players by selecting 3 Americans (Robby Ginepri, Wayne Odesnik and John Isner) to receive all but 1 main draw singles wild card, which went to Marat Safin.

In the qualifying singles draw in 2009 the USTA awarded 3 of the 4 wild cards to Americans (Devin Britton, Donald Young and Ryan Harrison), whilst the final wild card into the qualifying singles draw went to Marcos Baghdatis.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Cincinnati including the schedule of play -> Cincinnati 2010: August 7 – 22.

© 2010

Share this link!