Cincinnati 2012 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round

The 2012 Cincinnati Open men’s main draw singles 1st round matches begin on Monday 13 August at 11am local time. The Cincinnati Open has 56 players vying for this prestigious ATP Tour Masters 1000 title, the trophy, a maximum of 1,000 ATP ranking points and US$ 535,600 for the winner.

The Cincinnati 64-sized main draw is divided up between 8 Byes, 7 Qualifiers [Q], 4 Wild Cards [WC], 1 Lucky Loser [LL] and 44 Direct Acceptances. The Top 16 ranked players amongst the 44 Direct Acceptances become the seeds. The 16 seeds ranged in rankings from World No.1 Novak DJOKOVIC through to No.20, 2003 and 2006 Cincinnati singles champion, Andy RODDICK.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. To watch the tennis in Singapore you need to add 12 hours to the local time in Cincinnati to work out the equivalent Singapore time for the daily 2012 Cincinnati Open Order of Play.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • Roger FEDERER [1] v [15] Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER
  • Mardy FISH [10] v [8] Juan MONACO
  • David FERRER [4] v [14] Kei NISHIKORI
  • Gilles SIMON [11] v [5] Tomas BERDYCH

The seeded match ups for the bottom half of the draw are:

  • Juan Martin DEL POTRO [6] v [9] John ISNER
  • Andy RODDICK [16] v [3] Andy MURRAY
  • Janko TIPSAREVIC [7] v [12] Marin CILIC
  • Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV [13] v [2] Novak DJOKOVIC

The 2012 Cincinnati Open men’s singles draw is:

  1. Roger FEDERER [1] v BYE
  3. Ryan HARRISON v Bernard TOMIC
  4. Brian BAKER [WC] v [15] Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER
  5. Mardy FISH [10] v Feliciano LOPEZ
  6. Santiago GIRALDO v Carlos BERLOCQ
  7. Radek STEPANEK v Albert RAMOS
  8. BYE v [8] Juan MONACO
  9. David FERRER [4] v BYE
  10. Paul-Henri MATHIEU [Q] v Stanislas WAWRINKA
  11. Kevin ANDERSON v [WC] James BLAKE
  12. Marcel GRANOLLERS v [14] Kei NISHIKORI
  13. [11] Simon replaced by Alejandro FALLA [LL] v Marcos BAGHDATIS
  14. Richard GASQUET v Milos RAONIC
  15. LU Yen-Hsun [Q] v Lukasz KUBOT
  16. BYE v [5] Tomas BERDYCH

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Juan Martin DEL POTRO [6] v BYE
  2. David NALBANDIAN v Tommy HAAS
  3. Lleyton HEWITT [WC] v Mikhail YOUZHNY
  4. Viktor TROICKI v  [Q] Ivan DODIG
  5. Andy RODDICK [16] v [LL] Jeremy CHARDY replaced [9] Isner
  6. Denis ISTOMIN v Julien BENNETEAU
  7. Jurgen MELZER v [WC] Sam QUERREY
  8. BYE v [3] Andy MURRAY
  9. Janko TIPSAREVIC [7] v BYE
  10. Pablo ANDUJAR v [Q] Marinko MATOSEVIC
  11. Donald YOUNG v [Q] Jesse LEVINE
  12. Sergiy STAKHOVSKY [Q] v [12] Marin CILIC
  13. Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV [13] v Nikolay DAVYDENKO
  14. Fabio FOGNINI [Q] v Florian MAYER
  15. Andreas SEPPI v Robin HAASE
  16. BYE v [2] Novak DJOKOVIC

Photo credit: Beth Wilson

Share this link!