Indian Wells 2010 Men’s Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:toga

The Indian Wells Open Men’s main draw singles matches begin on Wednesday 10 March local time at Indian Wells, California in the USA. The draw has been completed with 96 main draw spots divided up between 12 Qualifiers, 5 Wild Cards and 79 Direct Acceptances.

All of the top 32 ranked players are seeded and have a BYE in the 1st round, so await the winners of the 1st round matches. The seeding and draw for the top 32 players, if they all win through their 1st match in the 2nd round is:

  • (1) Roger Federer versus (27) Marcos Baghdatis
  • (18) Tommy Robredo v. (14) Radek Stepanek
  • (12) Gael Monfils v. (22) Jurgen Melzer
  • (30) Janko Tipsarevic v. (7) Andy Roddick
  • (4) Andy Murray v. (32) Igor Andreev
  • (23) Ivo Karlovic v. (13) David Ferrer
  • (9) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga v. (24) Albert Montanes
  • (28) Feliciano Lopez v. (6) Robin Soderling

…which are the match ups for the top half of the draw. In the bottom half of the draw, the players who are seeded to meet are:

  • (5) Nikolay Davydenko v. (29) Viktor Troicki
  • (19) Tomas Berdych v. (10) Fernando Verdasco
  • (15)  John Isner v. (17) Sam Querrey
  • (31) Julien Benneteau v. (3) Rafael Nadal
  • (8) Marin Cilic v. (26) Thomaz Bellucci
  • (21) Juan Monaco v. (11) Juan Carlos Ferrero
  • (16) Gilles Simon v. (20) Ivan Ljubicic
  • (25) Philipp Kohlschreiber v. (2) Novak Djokovic

There is a much better chance for the 32 seeds to make it to through to play off against another seed at Indian Wells than in most tournaments, because in this tournament they only need to win one match to do so. Watch out for some upsets in the 2nd round and some great match ups in the 3rd round!

The 12 Qualifiers who won through their 2 matches each in the qualifying tournament are: Bobby Reynolds and Tim Smyczek from the USA, Marinko Matosevic (Australia), Rainer Schuettler and Bjorn Phau(Germany), Ramon Delgado (Paraguay), Lu Yen-Hsun (Taipei), Ricardo Mello and Thiago Alves (Brazil), Stefan Koubek (Austria), Brian Dabul (Argentina) and Kevin Anderson (South Africa).

The 1st round matches from the top of the draw through to the bottom of the draw is:

Hanescu v. Chela, Clement v. Luczak, Stakhovsky v. Odesnik, Sela v. (WC) Levine, Gasquet v. Gruel, (Q) Koubek v. (WC) Nalbandian, De Bakker v. Marcos, (Q) Lu v. Hernandez, (WC) Ginepri v. Seppi, Lorenzi v. Russell, Almagro v. Zverev, Blake v. Gimeno-Traver, Llodra v. (Q) Matosevic, (Q) Mello v. Zeballos, Mathieu v. Becker, F.Mayer v. Korolev, Chiudinelli v. Gulbis, Cuevas v. Gil, Falla v. Serra, (Q) Delgado v. Beck, (Q) Phau v. (Q) Anderson, Starace v. Chardy, (Q) Reynolds v. Ancic, (Q) Alves v. (Q) Schuettler, Garcia-Lopez v. Lacko,  (WC) Moya v. (Q) Smyczek, O.Rochus v. Fognini, Ram v. Koellerrer, L.Mayer v. Dabul, Dent v. (WC) Harrison, C.Rochus v. Petzschner and Berrer v. Fish.

The player’s name that is bolded is OCA’s prediction of who will win each match. Pictured above is Wild Card David Nalbandian preparing to play his best shot, his double handed backhand. The former 2005 ATP Tour Finals Champion seems to have added too much baulk to his frame over the past few years, which has slowed down his speed and made him injury prone. It will be interesting to see how well he does in his latest comeback.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information and results at Indian Wells for both the men and women’s events. Click this link for more details -> Indian Wells 2010: Mar 12-21.

© 2010

Share this link!