Indian Wells 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play

Andy Roddick at the Australian OpenThe Indian Wells Open is the 2nd MAJOR tournament of the “BIG 14” in 2011 for the men’s professional tennis tour. The 36th year of this event is being held at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, California in the USA. The official name of Indian Wells due to title sponsorship naming rights is the BNP Paribas Open.

The 2011 Indian Wells Open is an ATP World Tour Masters 1,000 category tournament played on Plexipave hard courts. The men’s event begins on Tuesday March 8 with the 48-player qualifying singles draw and the Men’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday March 20. The singles event has a 128-draw containing 96 players consisting of 79 direct acceptances, 12 Qualifiers and 5 Wild Cards.

The centre court has a seating capacity of 16,000 making it the world’s second largest stadium in tennis. The total financial commitment for the 2011 tournament is 4,760,000 US dollars, with the total prize money for the Men’s Singles event being $3,645,000. The 32 seeds are selected according to the ATP rankings as at 7 March 2011.

The 2010 Indian Wells Open Men’s singles champion was No.20 seed Ivan Ljubicic who defeated No.7 seed Andy RODDICK (pictured above) in the final 7-6 (7-3), 7-6 (7-5) in 2 hours and 7 minutes to win his first major title.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The ATP ranking points and prize money for the men’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 1,000 points + $611,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 600 points + $298,200;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 360 + $149,450;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 180 + $76,195,
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 90 + $40,160;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 45 + $21,495;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 25 + $11,605;
  8. The *32 players who lose in the 1st round earn 10 points + $7,115;
  9. The 12 players who qualify earn 16 points for qualifying;
  10. The 12 players who lose in the final round of qualifying earn 8 points + $2,120;
  11. The 24 players who lose in the 1st round of qualifying receive $1,085 but DO NOT earn any ranking points.

*The points awarded to a 1st round loser vary according to how they were allocated a place in the 1st round. A player who qualifies for the main draw and then loses the 1st round earns 26 points (16+10). A player who starts in the 1st round i.e. a direct acceptance or a wild card recipient, does not earn any ranking points if he loses his 1st round match.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers who win, earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 16 points for qualifying. Therefore, a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 25 points for making the 2nd round plus 16 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the 2nd round earns 41 ranking points in total.

A Lucky Loser who loses in the 1st round of the main draw earns 8 points from the qualifying event in addition to the points allocated per round e.g a 1st round loss by a Lucky Loser equals 8 plus 10, for a total of 18.

The schedule of play for the entire event at the Indian Wells Open is:

  • Tuesday 8 March: Qualifying Draw 1st round from 10am;
  • Wednesday 9 March: Qualifying Draw from 11am;
  • Thursday 10 March: Main Draw 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Friday 11 March: 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Saturday 12 March: 2nd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Sunday 13 March: 2nd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Monday 14 March: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 15 March: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 16 March: Round of 16 from 11am and 7pm;
  • Thursday 17 March: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7pm;
  • Friday 18 March: Quarter Finals from 11am and 6pm;
  • Saturday 19 March: Semi Finals from 11am; and
  • Sunday 20 March: Men’s Singles Finals at 11am.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Indian Wells-> Indian Wells 2011: March 7-20

© photo credit: 6cab

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Indian Wells 2011 Men’s Singles Draw: Round of 16 | OnCourt Advantage
  2. Indian Wells Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage
  3. Indian Wells 2011 Men’s Singles Draw: Quarter Finals | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.