Indian Wells 2011 Men’s Singles Draw: Qualifiers

The 2011 Indian Wells Open men’s qualifying singles event began on Tuesday 8 March and was completed on Wednesday 9 March. The qualifying began with 48 players battling for the 12 spots allocated to qualifiers in the main draw of the singles event.

The official tournament name of Indian Wells is the BNP Paribas Open due to title sponsorship naming rights. To qualify for the main draw you must win 2 matches in a row in the qualifying event in the best-of-3 sets format. Of the 24 seeds in the qualifying 8 of them were defeated in the first round of qualifying, leaving the other 16 seeds amongst the 24 players in “The Qualifying Round”.

The Qualifying Round is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. In the Qualifying Round only 5 of the Top 12 seeds that were expected to qualify won through to the main draw. Four seeds ranging from 13-24 qualified, American and No.14 seed Tim SMYCZEK, No.13 Rik DE VOEST, No.15 Flavio CIPOLLA and No.17 Matthew EBDEN.

The other three players to qualify were American wild card entrant Ryan SWEETING, alternate Rohan BOPANNA and the unseeded Chris GUCCIONE. Along with Sweeting, Siwy made it to the final round of qualifying whereas each of the other three wild cards lost in the 1st round of qualifying. The highest ranked player to lose in the qualifying round was No.1 seed Daniel Brands, which means he will be the first player selected to take a Lucky Loser spot in the main draw if any player withdraws before his 1st round match.

If you need any further details about INDIAN WELLS please leave a comment. Click this link to follow this site in real time on Twitter @OnCourtAd and click this link to join the friends of this site on Facebook OnCourtAdvantage.

Any player whose name is italicised, has his first name removed and has his surname in lower case letters is a seeded player who was expected to win through to qualify for the main draw. The names that are bolded and listed first are those who successfully qualified and gained entry into the main draw.

To see the FULL 2011 Indian Wells Men’s Schedule of Play, prize money and ATP ranking points earned per round plus more details about the qualifying event click-> Indian Wells 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play.

The 2011 Indian Wells Open Men’s 2nd or final round of qualifying singles results are:

  1. (ALT) Rohan BOPANNA defeated (1) Daniel BRANDS
  2. (2) Somdev DEVVARMAN def. Greg JONES
  3. (14) Tim SMYCZEK def. Sebastian DECOUD (3) Kendrick
  4. (4) Michael RUSSELL def. (18) Alex KUZNETSOV
  5. (WC) Ryan SWEETING def. (23) Jesse WITTEN
  6. (6) Reister (15) Flavio CIPOLLA def. Luka GREGORC
  7. (7) Alex BOGOMOLOV JR def. (20) Frank DANCEVIC
  8. (8) Marinko MATOSEVIC def. Raven KLAASEN
  9. (9) Donald YOUNG def. (WC) Rudolf SIWY
  10. Chris GUCCIONE def. (10) Daniel MUNOZ-DE LA NAVA
  11. (17) Matthew EBDEN def. (11) Izak VAN DER MERWE
  12. (13) Rik DE VOEST def. (12) Bobby REYNOLDS

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Indian Wells-> Indian Wells 2011: March 7-20.

© 2011

© photo credit: n.hewson

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Pro Blogger News

Comments are closed.