Indian Wells 2011 Men’s Singles Draw

The 2011 Indian Wells Open men’s singles event begins on Thursday 10 March at 10am local time. There are 96 players in the draw divided up between 79 Direct Acceptances, 12 Qualifiers (Q) and 5 Wild Cards (WC). The cut-off date for entry was 25 January 2011 and Dustin Brown of Germany who was ranked at No.89 that week was the last direct acceptance.

In this post the full men’s singles draw will be listed below plus a number of interesting facts about the main draw as soon as the draw is completed. The official draw is taking place at 1pm today on the Indian Wells Tennis Garden Stage. The official tournament name of Indian Wells is the BNP Paribas Open due to title sponsorship naming rights and it is an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 category tournament played on Deco Turf II hard courts from March 8 to 20.

The Seeds: In a 128-player sized draw there are 32 seeded players in order to keep the 1 seed for each 4 spots in the draw ratio according to tournament draw rules. Indian Wells has a 96-player draw so the seeds all receive a BYE in the 1st round and await the 32 winners of the 1st round matches in the 2nd round.

The seeding is of players is according to the most recent rankings before the qualifying singles draw is made . The qualifying was drawn on Monday 7 March so the seeding for both the qualifying and main draws are made according to this weeks rankings as at 7 March.

The Wild Cards: Thus far 4 of the 5 wild cards have been awarded to-> Americans James BLAKE and Ryan HARRISON, Canada’s Milos RAONIC and Australian Bernard TOMIC when the remaining wild card is announced his name will be added here-> Richard BERANKIS of Lithuania.

The Qualifiers: The 48-player qualifying tournament begins on Tuesday 8 March and concludes on Wednesday 9 March. As soon as the qualifying event is completed the names of the 12 qualifiers will be added into their allocated spots in the draw below and listed here-> Rohan BOPANNA, Somdev DEVVARMAN, Tim SMYCZEK, Michael RUSSELL, Ryan SWEETING, Flavio CIPOLLA, Alex BOGOMOLOV JR, Marinko MATOSEVIC, Donald YOUNG, Chris GUCCIONE, Matthew EBDEN and Rik DE VOEST.

To see the FULL 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play, prize money and ATP ranking points earned per round plus more details about the qualifying event click-> Indian Wells 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play. Once the full draw is filled in below only the Top 16 seeds names will be bolded to make it easier to spot which Top 16 seeds are drawn to play each other for a spot in the quarter finals.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the 3rd round is:

  • Rafael NADAL (1) v (27) Juan MONACO
  • Marcos BAGHDATIS (19) v (15) Jo-Wilfried TSONGA
  • Nicolas ALMAGRO (11) v (23) Albert MONTANES
  • Gilles SIMON (28) v (6) David FERRER
  • Robin SODERLING (4) v (32) Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER
  • Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV (20) v (14) Ivan LJUBICIC
  • Fernando VERDASCO (9) v (21) Sam QUERREY
  • Tommy ROBREDO (25) v (5) Andy MURRAY

The seeded match ups for the bottom half of the draw are:

  • Andy RODDICK (8) v (30) John ISNER
  • Richard GASQUET (18) v (10) Jurgen MELZER
  • Viktor TROICKI (16) v (24) Michael LLODRA
  • Ernests GULBIS (31) v (3) Novak DJOKOVIC
  • Tomas BERDYCH (7) v (26) Thomaz BELLUCCI
  • Marin CILIC (17) v (12) Stanislas WAWRINKA
  • Mardy FISH (13) v (22) Guillermo GARCIA-LOPEZ
  • Juan Ignacio CHELA (29) v (2) Roger FEDERER

The draw for the 2011 Indian Wells Open Men’s singles event is:

  1. Rafael NADAL (1) v BYE
  2. Rik DE VOEST (Q) v Pere RIBA
  3. Ryan SWEETING (Q) v Marcel GRANOLLERS
  4. BYE v (27) Juan MONACO
  5. Marcos BAGHDATIS (19) v BYE
  6. Somdev DEVVARMAN (Q) v Adrian MANNARINO
  7. Flavio CIPOLLA (Q) v Xavier MALISSE
  8. BYE v (15) Jo-Wilfried TSONGA
  9. Nicolas ALMAGRO (11) v BYE
  10. Michael RUSSELL (Q) v Kevin ANDERSON
  11. Denis ISTOMEN v Jarkko NIEMINEN
  12. BYE v (23) Albert MONTANES
  13. Gilles SIMON (28) v BYE
  14. Rainer SCHUETTLER v Robin HAASE
  15. Marinko MATOSEVIC (Q) v Ivo KARLOVIC
  16. BYE v (6) David FERRER
  17. Robin SODERLING (4) v BYE
  18. Bjorn PHAU v Michael BERRER
  19. Tim SMYCZEK (Q) v Illya MARCHENKO
  20. BYE v (32) Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER
  21. Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV (20) v BYE
  22. Victor HANESCU v Andreas SEPPI
  23. Radek STEPANEK v Juan Martin DEL POTRO
  24. BYE v (14) Ivan LJUBICIC
  25. Fernando VERDASCO (9) v BYE
  26. Richard BERANKIS (WC) v (Q) Alex BOGOMOLOV Jnr
  27. Janko TIPSAREVIC v Tobias KAMKE
  28. BYE v (21) Sam QUERREY
  29. Tommy ROBREDO (25) v BYE
  30. Mischa ZVEREV v (Q) Matthew EBDEN
  31. Donald YOUNG (Q) v Potito STARACE
  32. BYE v (5) Andy MURRAY

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Andy RODDICK (8) v BYE
  2. James BLAKE (WC) v (Q) Chris GUCCIONE
  3. Ruben RAMIREZ HIDALGO v Ricardo MELLO
  4. BYE v (30) John ISNER
  5. Richard GASQUET (18) v BYE
  6. Pablo CUEVAS v Pablo ANDUJAR
  7. Julien BENNETEAU v Feliciano LOPEZ
  8. BYE v (10) Jurgen MELZER
  9. Viktor TROICKI (16) v BYE
  10. Rohan BOPANNA (Q) v (WC) Bernard TOMIC
  11. Santiago GIRALDO v Daniel GIMENO-TRAVER
  12. BYE v (24) Michael LLODRA
  13. Ernests GULBIS (31) v BYE
  14. Lleyton HEWITT v LU Yen-Hsun
  15. Florian MAYER v Andrey GOLUBEV
  16. BYE v (3) Novak DJOKOVIC
  17. Tomas BERDYCH (7) v BYE
  18. Mikhail KUKUSHKIN v Lukasz KUBOT
  19. Thiemo DE BAKKER v Benjamin BECKER
  20. BYE v (26) Thomaz BELLUCCI
  21. Marin CILIC (17) v BYE
  22. Teymuraz GABASHVILI v Florent SERRA
  23. Nikolay DAVYDENKO v Fabio FOGNINI
  24. BYE v (12) Stanislas WAWRINKA
  25. Mardy FISH (13) v BYE
  26. Milos RAONIC (WC) v Marsel ILHAN
  27. Ryan HARRISON (WC) v Jeremy CHARDY
  28. BYE v (22) Guillermo GARCIA-LOPEZ
  29. Juan Ignacio CHELA (29) v BYE
  30. Philipp PETZSCHNER v Dustin BROWN
  32. BYE v (2) Roger FEDERER

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Indian Wells-> Indian Wells 2011: March 7-20

© photo credit: Philip Ip


Share this link!


  1. Dear Pat,

    Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. Yes it seems as though it was a misprint that having just checked again seems to be rectified now. OCA has the full draw listed now besides the qualifiers spots because the final round of qualifying will be played on Wednesday local time in Indian Wells. I’ll post about the results of the 1st round of qualifying and draw for the final round of qualifying today.

    Kind regards,
    Editor OCA

    OCA Twitter:!/OnCourtAd
    OCA Facebook:

  2. The 2011 men’s draw lists Federer and Djokovic as among the top seeds (box at bottom L below the draw) but their names are NOT in the actual draw. No “withdrawal” notice in the little box at bottom. What is going on? Misprint by the tournament organisers?

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Indian Wells Men's Tennis 2011: The Burning Questions
  2. Indian Wells Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.