Indian Wells 2012 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round

Juan Martin del Potro at the SAP Open in San Jose
2011 Indian Wells semi finalist Juan Martin DEL POTRO defeated Roger Federer in 5 sets in the 2009 US Open men's final. Del Potro is gunning for World No.1. He has made the semis or better at 5 of his past 7 tournaments.

The 2012 Indian Wells Open men’s main draw singles 1st round matches will begin on Thursday 8 March at 11am local time in California in the USA. Indian Wells is one of only nine ATP Tour Masters 1000 category tournaments each year and has 96 players vying for this prestigious title, the maximum of ATP ranking points i.e. 1,000 and $1,000,000 US dollars in prize money for the winner.

Indian Wells has a 128-draw divided up between 96 players: 12 Qualifiers (Q), 5 Wild Cards (WC), 79 Direct Acceptances and 32 BYES. The Top 32 ranked players amongst the 79 Direct Acceptances become the seeds and ALL have a BYE in the 1st round. The 32 seeds were ranked from World No.1 (Novak DJOKOVIC) through to No.33 (Julien BENNETEAU).

The last direct acceptance into the main draw was Matthias BACHINGER from Germany who was ranked No.89 at the entry deadline date, which means Indian Wells is showcasing 79 of the Top 89 players in the world with only No.29 Robin Soderling unable to play due to injury from the seeded players.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage.

Click the following link for details about how you can buy Indian Wells Open Official tennis tickets and for the full coverage of the Indian Wells Open, including the entire tournament schedule of play, the round-by-round breakdown of prize money and ranking points and the qualifying singles event.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the 3rd round is:

  • Novak DJOKOVIC (1) v (29) Kevin ANDERSON
  • Florian MAYER (18) v (16) Richard GASQUET
  • Nicolas ALMAGRO (12) v (17) Kei NISHIKORI
  • Andy RODDICK (30) v (7) Tomas BERDYCH
  • Andy MURRAY (4) v (25) Viktor TROICKI
  • Stanislas WAWRINKA (23) v (13) Gilles SIMON
  • John ISNER (11) v (22) Juan MONACO
  • Julien BENNETEAU (32) v (8) Mardy FISH

The seeded match ups for the bottom half of the draw are:

  • David FERRER (5) v (31) Juan Ignacio CHELA
  • Fernando VERDASCO (19) v (9) Juan Martin DEL POTRO
  • Gael MONFILS (14) v (20) Jurgen MELZER
  • Milos RAONIC (27) v (3) Roger FEDERER
  • Jo-Wilfried TSONGA (6) v (28) Radek STEPANEK
  • Marin CILIC (24) v (10) Janko TIPSAREVIC
  • Feliciano LOPEZ (15) v (21) Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV
  • Marcel GRANOLLERS (26) v (2) Rafael NADAL

The 2012 Indian Wells Men’s singles draw is:

  1. Novak DJOKOVIC (1) v BYE
  2. Andrey GOLUBEV (Q) v (Q) Rik DE VOEST
  4. BYE v (29) Kevin ANDERSON
  5. Florian MAYER (18) v BYE
  6. Robin HAASE v Pablo ANDUJAR
  7. Albert RAMOS v (WC) Jesse LEVINE
  8. BYE v (16) Richard GASQUET
  9. Nicolas ALMAGRO (12) v BYE
  10. Tim SMYCZEK (Q) v (WC) Sam QUERREY
  11. Santiago GIRALDO v (WC) Jack SOCK
  12. BYE v (17) Kei NISHIKORI
  13. Andy RODDICK (30) v BYE
  14. Ivo KARLOVIC v Lukasz KUBOT
  16. BYE v (7) Tomas BERDYCH
  17. Andy MURRAY (4) v BYE
  18. Guillermo GARCIA-LOPEZ v Rui MACHADO
  19. Flavio CIPOLLA v Ryan HARRISON
  20. BYE v (25) Viktor TROICKI
  21. Stanislas WAWRINKA (23) v BYE
  22. Paolo LORENZI (Q) v (WC) Robby GINEPRI
  23. Amir DELIC (Q) v Dudi SELA
  24. BYE v (13) Gilles SIMON
  25. John ISNER (11) v BYE
  26. Federico GIL (LL) v (Q) Rhyne WILLIAMS
  27. Vasek POSPISIL (Q) v Nicolas MAHUT
  28. BYE v (22) Juan MONACO
  29. Julien BENNETEAU (32) v BYE
  30. Matthew EBDEN (Q) v Igor KUNITSYN
  31. Andreas SEPPI v Olivier ROCHUS
  32. BYE v (8) Mardy FISH

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. David FERRER (5) v BYE
  2. Ivan DODIG v Grigor DIMITROV
  3. LU Yen-Hsun v Denis ISTOMIN
  4. BYE v (31) Juan Ignacio CHELA
  5. Fernando VERDASCO (19) v BYE
  6. Cedrik-Marcel STEBE v Ryan SWEETING
  7. Marinko MATOSEVIC (Q) v (Q) Ruben BEMELMANS
  8. BYE v (14) Gael MONFILS
  9. Nicolas ALMAGRO (12) v BYE
  10. Nikolay DAVYDENKO v (Q) Sergei BUBKA
  11. Lukas ROSOL v Thomaz BELLUCCI
  12. BYE v (20) Jurgen MELZER
  13. Milos RAONIC (27) v BYE
  14. Carlos BERLOCQ v Benoit PAIRE
  15. (TURSUNOV out) Tobias KAMKE (LL)  v (WC) Denis KUDLA
  16. BYE v (3) Roger FEDERER
  17. Jo-Wilfried TSONGA (6) v BYE
  18. Michael LLODRA v Ernests GULBIS
  19. Xavier MALISSE v (Q) Bobby REYNOLDS
  20. BYE v (28) Radek STEPANEK
  21. Marin CILIC (24) v BYE
  22. Potito STARACE v David NALBANDIAN
  23. Bernard TOMIC v Gilles MULLER
  24. BYE v (10) Janko TIPSAREVIC
  25. Feliciano LOPEZ (15) v BYE
  26. Jeremy CHARDY v Marcos BAGHDATIS
  27. Donald YOUNG v Steve DARCIS
  28. BYE v (21) Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV
  29. Marcel GRANOLLERS (26) v BYE
  30. Jarkko NIEMINEN v Tommy HAAS
  31. Alejandro FALLA v Leonardo MAYER
  32. BYE v (2) Rafael NADAL

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

© photo credit: SAP Sponsors

Share this link!

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Indian Wells Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage
  2. Indian Wells 2012 Men’s Singles Draw | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.