Indian Wells 2012 Men’s Singles Draw: Qualifying

Roger Federer at the Dubai Open
Triple Indian Wells champion (2004-06) Roger FEDERER has won 5 singles titles from his last 7 events by winning 33 matches to 2 losses.

The 2012 Indian Wells Open men’s qualifying singles event begins on Tuesday 6 March at 10am local time and is being drawn today. In this post the full men’s qualifying singles draw will be listed below plus a number of interesting facts about the qualifying. YOU can attend the first day (Tuesday 6 March)  of the qualifying event without having to pay for a ticket, yes, it is free entry, so don’t miss it!

There are 48 players in the qualifying draw divided up between 5 Wild Cards (WC) and 43 Direct Acceptances vying for 12 spots in the singles main draw. There are 24 seeds in the qualifying draw that have ALL been separated from each other as they are seeded to be the players who do qualify, so only meet each other in “The Qualifying Round”. The Qualifying Round is the final round that decides which 12 players qualify for the main singles draw.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage.

Click this link for to find full coverage of Indian Wells, including the entire tournament schedule of play and prize money plus ATP ranking points earned per round  details-> Indian Wells Open Tennis 2012.

The cut-off date for acceptances into the 2012 Indian Wells Open qualifying singles draw was 23 January 2012. Players were accepted into the qualifying draw according to their ranking on January 23rd. To determine whom the 24 seeds are in the qualifying event, the rankings released on Monday 5 March 2012 will be used to identify the seeds (and not the rankings at the time of qualifying on January 23rd).

A seeded player occupies one of every two spots in the qualifying draw. The qualifying draws are different to main draws because these events do not play off until there is one undefeated player. Therefore, the No.1 seed and the No.2 seed are not separated at the opposite ends of the draw. The seeds do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of the qualifying event like they do in the singles main draw. All players must win two best-of-three tiebreak set matches in a row in order to qualify.

Each player that qualifies for the singles main draw earns 16 ATP ranking points. If a qualifier loses in the 1st round of the main draw he earns 26 points (16+10), 16 points for qualifying plus the ten main draw 1st round points. A player who starts in the 1st round i.e. a direct acceptance or a wild card recipient, does not earn any ranking points if he loses his 1st round match.

A qualifier earns the ranking points that are awarded for the round he makes it through to, plus his 16 points he earned for qualifying throughout the tournament. For example, a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 25 points for making the 2nd round plus 16 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the 2nd round earns 41 ranking points in total.

If a direct acceptance withdraws from the event, then a “Lucky Loser” i.e. a player who loses in the final round of qualifying will be awarded a place in the singles main draw. A Lucky Loser who loses in the 1st round of the main draw earns 8 points from the qualifying event in addition to the points allocated per round e.g. a 1st round loss by a Lucky Loser equals 8 plus 10, for a total of 18.

The 2012 Indian Wells Open Men’s qualifying singles draw is:

  1. Frederico GIL (1) v Alex KUZNETSOV
  2. Pierre-Ludovic DUCLOS v (24) Ruben BEMELMANS 
  3. Tobias KAMKE (2) v Greg JONES
  4. Amer DELIC v (19) Julio SILVA
  5. Matthew EBDEN (3) v Victor ESTRELLA
  6. Ivan NAVARRO v (21) Rajeev RAM
  7. Paolo LORENZI (4) v Dominik MEFFERT
  8. Daniel KOSAKOWSKI (WC) v (22) Marco CHIUDINELLI
  9. Joao SOUZA (5) v Sergei BUBKA
  10. Dennis NOVIKOV (WC) v (14) Thomas SCHOOREL
  11. Igor ANDREEV (6) v (WC) Tim SMYCZEK
  12. Haithem ABID (WC) v (15) Michael RUSSELL
  13. Marsel ILHAN (7) v (WC) Rhyne WILLIAMS
  14. Mischa ZVEREV v (13) Jurgen ZOPP
  15. Bjorn PHAU (8) v Denis GREMELMAYR
  16. Roberto BAUTISTA-AGUT v (18) Andrey GOLUBEV
  17. Vasel POSPISIL (9) v Mathieu RODRIGUES
  18. Maxime UTHOM v (23) James WARD
  19. Bobby REYNOLDS (10) v Peter GOJOWCZYK
  20. Frank DANCEVIC v (20) Arnau BRUGUES-DAVI
  21. Rik DE VOEST (11) v Stefano GALVANI
  22. Stephan BOHLI v (17) Izak VAN DER MERWE
  23. Ricardo MELLO (12) v Michael YANI
  24. Gastao ELIAS  v (16) Marinko MATOSEVIC

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round. 

© photo credit: Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Indian Wells Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage
  2. Indian Wells 2012 Men’s Schedule of Play | OnCourt Advantage
  3. Indian Wells 2012 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.