Indian Wells Men’s Major Tournament

The 2nd Major Tournament on the ATP Tour in 2010 is the Indian Wells Open. This year is the 2nd year that Indian Wells is called the BNP Paribas Open because BNP Paribas is the title sponsor.

Indian Wells is one of the most important tournaments on the ATP Tour because it is one of the 9 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 events. The Masters 100o events are the major tournaments in men’s tennis that combine with the Grand Slams to showcase all of the world best players competing for these prestigious titles.

Andre Agassi is the all time leader for Masters 1000 titles won with 17. This year Roger Federer  has a chance to equal that record. Federer won this event for 3 years in a row from 2004 to 2006. Rafael Nadal will have his chance to equal Federer with 16 Masters 1000 titles. Nadal has won Indian Wells twice in 2007 and 2009.

Nadal who was then the No.1 seed defeated Andy Murray 6-1 6-2 in the final in 2009. The Spaniard won 1,000 ATP ranking points for that victory whilst Murray the No.4 seed won 600 ATP ranking points as the runner-up.

Nadal beat Juan Martin del Potro in the quarter finals and Andy Roddick in the semi finals in 2009. Murray defeated Ivan Ljubicic in the quarter finals and Federer in the semi finals in 2009. Whilst Novak Djokovic and Fernando Verdasco also made the quarter finals last year.

Juan Carlos Ferrero is pictured above just after making contact with the ball for this backhand volley. Ferrero seems poised for a strong showing at Indian Wells. The former World No.1 and 2003 French Open champion leads the men’s tour in 2010 for most singles matches won.

Indian Wells is in California in the USA. This year there will 35th year anniversary celebrations for the men’s event and it will be held on plexipave hard courts at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. The singles main draw will have 96 players. The 1st round matches commence on Thursday 11 March and there will be play every day through to the Men’s Singles Final on Sunday 21 March.

A lot of the information about how this event works is covered in these 2 links -> please click here Indian Wells Schedule of Play and Indian Wells Women’s Major Tournament.

The ATP rankings as of 26 January, 2010 were used to determine who would be accepted into the qualifying and main draws. There were 79 spots allocated in the main draw to Direct Acceptances, 5 Wilds Cards and 12 spots for Qualifiers. Direct Acceptances are the players who are accepted into the main draw in order of ranking from the highest entered player down the entry list until the 79 places are filled.

The cut-off for Indian Wells was World No.90 Michael Russell from the USA so he was the 79th highest ranked player entered in to this event. The cut-off is the ranking of the last player (or lowest ranked player), who is directly accepted into the main draw. Indian Wells has an absolutely top class field of players with only 1 player ranked in the Top 10 withdrawing (Juan Martin Del Potro).


All of the Wild Cards have been finalised in both the women’s and men’s singles main draws. For the men, 3 Wild Cards were allocated to American men – Robby Ginepri currently the World No.108, Jesse Levine No.113 and Ryan Harrison who is youngest player in the top 300 at No.284.

The other 2 Wild Cards were given to star players returning from injuries – Carlos Moya the former world No.1 and 1998 French Open Champion and David Nalbandian the former World No.3, Wimbledon runner-up and winner of the 2005 end of year championships.

For the women 8 were awarded, the 1st one went to 7 time Grand Slam champion Justine Henin, then 3 American women – Christina McHale who is currently the World No.206, Alexa Glatch No.154 and Bethanie Mattek-Sands No.133. The other 4 went to Alicia Molik No.138, Eleni Daniilidou No.191, 20 year old Austrian Tamira Paszek No.179 and rising star 16 year old Croatian Ajla Tomljanovic No.224.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information and results at Indian Wells for both the men and women’s events including: the seeding, the qualifiers, the draw, results and previews and analyses of certain matches. Click this link for more details -> Indian Wells 2010: Mar 12-21 

Today’s POST is dedicated to Ivan Lendl. Lendl was born on 7 March in 1960 so is now 50 years old! As a Czech he won 8 Grand Slam singles titles including 3 French Open championships in 1984, 1986-87, 3 US Open crowns in a row from 1985-87 and back to back Australian Opens in 1989 & 1990. He first achieved his highest career ranking of World No.1 on 28 February 1983.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: Swiv

1 Comment

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Indian Wells Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.