Madrid 2010 Men’s Singles Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:mbevis

The 2010 Mutua Madrilena Madrid Open men’s main draw singles matches will begin today – Sunday 9 May at 11am local time in Madrid, Spain. Only 3 matches will be held as the qualifying event needs to be completed as well. There are 56 main draw spots divided up between 8 Qualifiers (Q), 4 Wild Cards (WC) and 44 Direct Acceptances.

Madrid is the 3rd major clay court tournament of the year in men’s tennis and the final ATP World Tour Masters 1000 clay court tournament before the 2010 Roland Garros event. Just 3 main draw singles matches, will be played today with Davis Cup star David Ferrer being honoured by being the first men’s singles match to be played on the main stadium court at Madrid.

The main stadium court is called Pista Manolo Santana on which Ferrer plays Jeremy Chardy at 5pm. “Pista” means court in Spanish. The other 2 matches will be played earlier on Stadium 3 and are Evgeny Korolev versus Ivo Karlovic followed directly by Juan Monaco v. Simon Greul.

For further details about the men’s event you can visit -> Madrid 2010 Men’s Schedule of Play.

Only the Top 8 seeded players have a BYE in the 1st round, whilst seeds 9 to 16 must play in the 1st round. The Top 8 seeds await the 24 winners of the 1st round matches. The draw for the seeded players, if they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • (1) Roger Federer versus (15) Stanislas Wawrinka
  • (10) Mikhail Youzhny v. (5) Andy Roddick
  • (3) Andy Murray v. (14) Sam Querrey
  • (9) David Ferrer v. (8) Marin Cilic

Which are the match ups for the top half of the draw. In the bottom half of the draw, the players who are seeded to meet are:

  • (6) Fernando Verdasco v. (11) Tomas Berdych
  • (16) Thomaz Bellucci v. (4) Robin Soderling
  • (7) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga v. (12) Gael Monfils
  • (13) John Isner v.(2) Rafael Nadal

The 1st round matches from the top of the draw through to the bottom half of the draw are:

(WC) Carlos Moya v. Benjamin Becker, Leonardo Mayer v. Julien Benneteau, (WC) Marcel Granollers v. (15) Stanislas Wawrinka, (10) Mikhail Youzhny v. Lukas Lacko, Ernests Gulbis v. Albert Montanes, Lukasz Kubot v. Feliciano Lopez, Pablo Cuevas v. (Q), Victor Hanescu v. Igor Andreev, (Q) v. (14) Sam Querrey, (9) David Ferrer v. Jeremy Chardy, Marcos Baghdatis v. Marco Chiudinelli, Paul-Henri Mathieu v. Eduardo Schwank, Evgeny Korolev v. Ivo Karlovic, (Q) v. Jurgen Melzer, (WC) David Nalbandian v. (11) Tomas Berdych, (16) Thomaz Bellucci v. (WC) Pere Riba, Juan Monaco v. Simon Greul, Nicolas Almagro v. Viktor Troicki, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez v. (Q), Fabio Fognini v. Philipp Petzschner, Stephane Robert v. (12) Gael Monfils, (13) John Isner v. (Q), Philipp Kohlschreiber v. (Q) and (Q) v. Andreas Seppi.

The player’s name that is bolded is OCA’s prediction of who will win each match. Where there is a (Q), no prediction is made because it depends which player will take that spot. Once the qualifying is finalised, we will update which players go into the above spots reserved for qualifiers.

In a strong show of support by the Real Federacion Espanola de tenis (Spanish Tennis Federation), 3 of the 4 wild cards into the main draw of the men’s singles event went to Spaniards including, former World No.1 Carlos Moya, Marcel Granollers and Pere Riba. The remaining wild card was awarded to former Wimbledon runner-up and 2007 Madrid Men’s Singles Champion, David Nalbandian of Argentina.

Another 7 Spanish men were directly accepted into the main draw to total 13 Spaniards in the 56-player draw. These players are Nadal, Verdasco, Ferrer, Montanes, Lopez, Almagro & Garcia-Lopez who may be joined by more fellow countrymen via the qualifying singles event. The last direct acceptance into the main draw was Eduardo Schwank of Argentina at World No.64.

Pictured above is 22 year old Novak Djokovic preparing to play an overhead smash by watching the ball, moving his feet into position and preparing his racquet in order to win this point outright. The 1.88m Djokovic from Serbia made it to the semi finals in Madrid last year before losing in the final set tie break, by 11 points to 9 to Nadal.

This year the 2008 Australian Open singles champion has had to pull out of Madrid due to allergies that were giving him breathing problems. Nadal now has the opportunity to regain the World No.2 ranking from Djokovic.

The current World No.2 has won 5 Masters 1000 titles – the Miami Open, Canadian Open, Indian Wells Open, Rome Open and the Paris Open. He has been a runner-up on 6 occasions in Masters 1000 events – twice at the Cincinnati Open and once each at Indian Wells, Miami, Rome and the Monte Carlo Open.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about the Madrid Open. Click this link for more details about both the men’s and women’s events in Madrid -> Madrid 2010: May 7 – 16.

© 2010

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Madrid 2010: May 7-16 | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.