Madrid 2011 Men’s Singles Draw: Qualifying

The 2011 Madrid Open men’s qualifying singles event began on Sunday 30 April at 11am local time. There are 28 players in the qualifying draw divided up between 5 Wild Cards (WC) and 43 Direct Acceptances vying for 12 spots in the main draw. At the cut-off date Flavio Cipolla of Italy then ranked at No.160 was the last direct acceptance.

In this post the full men’s qualifying singles draw will be listed below plus a number of interesting facts about the qualifying. The official tournament name of Madrid is the Mutua Madrid Open due to title sponsorship naming rights. Madrid is an ATP Masters 1000 category tournament played on outdoor red clay courts from April 30 to May 8.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage

A qualifier earns 25 points for qualifying plus a further 10 points if he loses in the 1st round for a total of 35 points. In comparison a 1st round loser who was a direct acceptance is awarded only 10 ATP ranking points. In fact a qualifier earns the ranking points that are awarded for the round he makes it to plus his 25 points he earned for qualifying throughout the tournament.

A qualifier who loses in the 2nd round earns 45 points for the amount allocated by round PLUS his 25 points for qualifying. Therefore, a qualifier who loses in the 2nd round earns 70 ranking points in total. There are 14 seeds in the qualifying which means that the highest 14 ranked players at the cut-off date are seeded to meet each other in the “Qualifying Round”.

The seeding will be done according to the ATP rankings as at 25 April and a seeded player occupies one of every 2 spots in the qualifying draw. The “Qualifying Round” is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. The seeds do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of the qualifying event. All players must win 2 matches in a row in order to qualify.

The qualifying draws are different to main draws because these events do not play off until there is one undefeated player. Therefore, the No.1 seed and the No.2 seed are not separated at the opposite ends of the draw and all 14 seeds are just listed down the draw.

The Wild Cards: The four wild cards into the qualifying event were awarded to-> 3 Spaniards Roberto ORTEGA-OLMEDOJavier MARTI and Albert ALCARAZ IVORRA and Romania’s Marius COPIL. To see the FULL 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play, prize money and ATP ranking points earned per round plus more details about the qualifying event click-> Madrid 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play.

Pictured above is current World No.2 Novak DJOKOVIC in position to swing to the contact point for this forehand drive. The 23-year-old from Serbia has achieved a perfect season thus far with a 27 wins to zero losses record seeing him win 5 ATP singles titles. The 1.88m Djokovic won the Australian Open, Indian Wells and Miami Masters 1000 titles in 2011.

Last week Djokovic won the Serbian Open in Belgrade on clay. The dual Grand Slam singles champion will continue his assault on the World No.1 ranking and Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer who he has posted a 5-0 record against in 2011. Djokovic has everything to gain after not playing Madrid in 2010 so he has zero points to defend. Nadal and Federer won and were runner-up, which means they have 1,000 and 600 points to defend respectively.

The draw for the 2011 Madrid Open Men’s qualifying singles event is:

  1. Fabio FOGNINI (1) v Federico DEL BONIS
  2. Alejandro FALLA v (11) Nicolas MAHUT
  3. Adrian MANNARINO (2) v (WC) Roberto ORTEGA-OLMEDO
  4. Daniel MUNOZ-DE LA NAVA v (10) Igor KUNITSYN
  5. Daniel GIMENO-TRAVER (3) v Marsel ILHAN
  6. Javier MARTI (WC) v (14) Ruben RAMIREZ HIDALGO
  7. Victor HANECSU (4) v Albert RAMOS
  8. Marius COPIL (WC) v (12) Andreas HAIDER-MAURER
  9. Carlos BERLOCQ (5) v Lukasz KUBOT
  10. Roberto BAUTISTA-AGUT (ALT) v (9) Thiemo BE BAKKER
  11. Olivier ROCHUS (6) v (ALT) Joao SOUZA
  12. Flavio CIPOLLA v (8) Teymuraz GABASHVILI
  13. Pere RIBA (7) v Illya MARCHENKO
  14. Albert ALCARAZ IVORRA (WC) v (13) Igor ANDREEV

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Madrid-> Madrid 2011: April 29-May 8 

Creative Commons License photo credit: Mark Howard Photography


Share this link!

1 Comment

  1. I just want to tell you that I am very new to blogging and really savored you’re web site. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You certainly come with tremendous articles. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your webpage.

Comments are closed.