Miami 2010 Men’s Singles Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:y.caradec

The Miami Open men’s main draw singles matches begin on Wednesday 24 March local time in Miami, Florida in the USA. The draw has been completed with 96 main draw spots divided up between 2 Lucky Losers (LL), 12 Qualifiers (Q), 4 Wild Cards (WC) and 78 Direct Acceptances.

All of the Top 32 ranked players are seeded and have a BYE in the 1st round, so await the winners of the 1st round matches. The seeding and draw for the Top 32 players, if they all win through their first match in the 2nd round is:

  • (1) Roger Federer versus (26) Albert Montanes
  • (20) Gilles Simon v. (16) Tomas Berdych
  • (10) Fernando Verdasco v. (23) Jurgen Melzer
  • (25) Marcos Baghdatis v. (7) Marin Cilic
  • (3) Andy Murray v. (29) Feliciano Lopez
  • (19) Stanislas Wawrinka v. (13) Mikhail Youzhny
  • (9) Fernando Gonzalez v. (22) Juan Monaco
  • (31) Janko Tipsarevic v. (5) Robin Soderling

…which are the match ups for the top half of the draw. In the bottom half of the draw, the players who are seeded to meet are:

  • (8) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga v. (28) Philipp Kohlschreiber
  • (17) John Isner v. (12) Juan Carlos Ferrero
  • (15) David Ferrer v. (24) Ivo Karlovic
  • (30) Viktor Troicki v. (4) Rafael Nadal
  • (6) Andy Roddick v. (32) Julien Benneteau
  • (18) Tommy Robredo v. (11) Ivan Ljubicic
  • (33) Nicolas Almagro v. (21) Sam Querrey
  • (27) Thomaz Bellucci v. (2) Novak Djokovic

There is a No.33 seed despite the fact that there are only 32 seeds because No.14 seed Gael Monfils who withdrew due to a left wrist injury. Nicolas Almagro became the No.33 seed so took the spot Monfils was allocated in the draw. Qualifier Ricardo Mello took Almagro’s original spot in the draw. Qualifier Nicolas Massu took the spot that wild card recipient Carlos Moya held before he withdrew with an ankle injury.

The 2 additional spots that became available go to Lucky Losers and those players took the spots in the draw originally reserved for qualifiers. Nicolas Lapentti and Marcos Daniel were the Lucky Losers because they were the 2 highest ranked players that lost in the final round of the Miami qualifying tournament.

The 12 Qualifiers who won through their 2 matches each in the qualifying tournament were: Nicolas Massu of Chile, Kevin Anderson (South Africa), Ricardo Mello (Brazil), Santiago Giraldo (Columbia), Lu Yen-Hsun (Taipei), Marsel Ilhan (Turkey), Ryan Sweeting (USA), Denis Istomen (Uzbekistan), Andrey Golubev (Kazakhstan), Rainer Schuettler (Germany), Xavier Malisse (Belgium) and Illya Marchenko (Ukraine).

The 1st round matches from the top of the draw through to the bottom of the draw are:

(LL) Lapentti v. Starace, (Q) Massu v. Serra, Zeballos v. Seppi, Ram v. De Bakker, Korolev v. Sela, Hanescu v. Falla, Lorenzi v. Chela, Robert v. Beck, Fish v. L.Mayer, Lacko v. Berrer, (Q) Anderson v. (Q) Mello, (Q) Giraldo v. (LL) Daniel, Fognini v. (Q) Lu, (Q) Ilhan v. Cuevas, Petzschner v. (Q) Sweeting, Luczak v. Hernandez, Clement v. Garcia-Lopez, Chiudinelli v. F.Mayer, (Q) Istomin v. Russell, Koellerer v. Christophe Rochus, and Llodra v. (WC) Harrison, (Q) Golubev v. Gimeno-Traver, (WC) Nalbandian v. Kubot, Dent v. (Q) Schuettler, Andreev v. (Q) Malisse, Hajek v. Stakhovsky, Mathieu v. (Q) Marchenko, Greul v. Becker, Schwank v. Gicquel, (WC) Ancic v. Chardy, (WC) Krajinovic v. Blake and Olivier Rochus v. Gasquet.

Therefore the winner of Lapentti & Starace plays Federer and in order it follows, so that the winner of Massu & Serra plays Montanes and through to the end of the draw where Djokovic plays the winner of O.Rochus & Gasquet.

The player’s name that is bolded is OCA’s prediction of who will win each match. Pictured above is Robin Soderling of Sweden poised to launch into his serve. Soderling achieved his best result in a Masters 1000 event last week at the Indian Wells Open by making the semi finals and playing some great tennis. If he can continue that form he will surpass his best career result in Miami, which was making the 3rd round.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about Miami. Click this link for more details including the Schedule of Play for Miami -> Miami 2010: March 22-April 4.

© 2010

Share this link!

1 Comment

Comments are closed.