Monte-Carlo 2010 Qualifying Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:gorgeoux

The 2010 Monte Carlo Open qualifying singles event begins on Saturday 10 April at 11am local time in Monte-Carlo. The men’s singles qualifying draw was finalised on Friday 9 April. There are 28 spots in the qualifying draw and is divided up between 4 Wild Cards (WC), 1 Alternate (ALT) and 23 Direct Acceptances.

There are 14 seeds in the qualifying which means that the highest 14 ranked players are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round”. The Qualifying Round is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies.

As mentioned in our Monte-Carlo Schedule of Play, the players who lose in the 1st round of qualifying earn 900 Euros but do NOT earn any ATP ranking points. The players win through to the 2nd round of qualifying but are then defeated, earn 1800 Euros and 14 ATP ranking points, which is more than a player receives who is directly accepted into the main draw and then loses his 1st round match.

Players who qualify for the main draw will earn a minimum of 7,650 Euros and supposedly 25 ATP ranking points if they are defeated in the 1st round of the main draw. However, each of the 3 players who qualified in Monte-Carlo in 2009 and lost in the 1st round of the main draw had 35 points added to their rankings. That means they received 3.5 times that amount that a direct acceptance received who lost his 1st round match. Do you think that is a fair way to allocate points?

Here is a scenario. Former World No.1 Lleyton Hewitt will not be seeded in Monte-Carlo with the ranking he had when the main draw acceptances were confirmed on 8 March 2010. Hewitt’s ranking was No.24 which means he could easily be drawn to play one of the seeds from No.9 to No.16 in the 1st round. These players will include World No.14 who won the 2010 Indian Wells Open, No.15 former World No.1, Roland Garros champion and twice a winner in Monte-Carlo, Juan Carlos Ferrero OR Tomas Berdych who defeated Roger Federer and Robin Soderling on his way to being the runner-up at the Miami Open last week. Hewitt will only earn 10 ranking points if he loses his first match.

The No.2 seed in the qualifying draw is World No.72 Oleksandr Dolgopolov Jnr. If he beats unseeded Santiago Ventura who is No.130 and then Mischa Zverev as he is expected to, to qualify, then he can earn 35 points to Hewitt’s 10 points if Stakhovsky and Hewitt both lose in the 1st round! The 2002 Wimbledon champion Lleyton Hewitt is pictured above after having placed the ball into position and is captured moving towards the contact point for this serve.

The seeds do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of the qualifying event. All players must win 2 matches in a row in order to qualify. The qualifying draws are different to main draws because these events do not play off until there is one undefeated player. Therefore, the No.1 seed and the No.2 seed are not separated at the opposite ends of the draw.

The number of seeds that is equal to the number of spots there are in the main draw that have been allocated to qualifiers are ALL separated from each other. These seeds are just listed down the draw. At Monte-Carlo there are 7 spots in the main draw allocated for the main draw. The players seeded to earn those 7 qualifying spots are highlighted below.

The Monte-Carlo draw for the qualifying is as follows:

  • (1) Sergiy Stakhovsky versus Ivan Navarro
  • (WC) Thomas Oger versus (12) Daniel Gimeno-Traver
  • (2) Oleksandr Dolgopolov Jnr versus Santiago Ventura
  • David Guez versus (9) Mischa Zverev
  • (3) Jarkko Nieminen versus (WC) Sergei Bubka
  • Ivan Dodig versus (8) Oscar Hernandez
  • (4) Peter Luczak versus Stefan Koubek
  • Edouard Roger-Vasselin versus (13) Igor Kunitsyn
  • (5) Thiemo De Bakker versus Alberto Martin
  • (ALT) George Bastl versus (14) Teimuraz Gabashvili
  • (6) Illya Marchenko versus (WC) Benjamin Balleret
  • Josselin Ouanna versus (10) Marcel Granollers
  • (7) Arnaud Clement versus (WC) Artem Smirnov
  • Frederico Gil versus (11) Andrey Gobulev

Just in case it was not clear…Each group of 2 matches (as you run down the draw), will be the players who meet each other in the next round. So, the winner of Stakhovsky and Navarro will play the winner of Oger and Gimeno-Traver for a spot in the main draw and in order it follows, so that the winner of Dolgopolov and Ventura will play the winner of Guez and Zverev etc.

Balleret and Oger are both from Monaco and were awarded wild cards into the qualifying event. The other 2 wild cards were given to Ukrainians Smirnov and Bubka. Bastl was given a spot in the draw as an alternate because 1 player who was accepted into the draw did not take his place, which left one spot for an alternate.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about Monte-Carlo. Click this link for more details including the Schedule of Play -> Monte-Carlo 2010: April 10-18.

© 2010