Monte-Carlo 2010 Singles Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:水御龙神

The 2010 Monte Carlo Open main draw singles matches begin on Sunday 11 April local time in Monte-Carlo. The men’s singles main draw was held at 12 noon on Saturday 10 April. There are 56 main draw spots divided up between 7 Qualifiers (Q), 4 Wild Cards (WC) and 45 Direct Acceptances.

Rolex began its reign as the title sponsor for the 2009 event. Monte-Carlo is the first clay court tournament of the clay court season. Despite this tournament beginning in 1897, this year will be the 104th edition of Monte-Carlo. Monte-Carlo has been held at the Monte-Carlo Country Club since 1928 and is located in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin in France.

The 2 main courts for Monte-Carlo are Court Central and Court des Princes. The seeding was done using the current ATP rankings (as at 5  April 2010). Only the top 8 seeded players have a BYE in the 1st round, whilst seeds 9 to 16 must play in the 1st round. The Top 8 seeds await the 24 winners of the 1st round matches. The draw for the seeded players, if they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • (1) Novak Djokovic versus (13) Stanislas Wawrinka
  • (12) Tommy Robredo v. (7) Mikhail Youzhny
  • (4) Marin Cilic v. (16) Marcos Baghdatis
  • (10) Tomas Berdych v. (6) Fernando Verdasco

Which are the match ups for the top half of the draw. In the bottom half of the draw, the players who are seeded to meet are:

  • (8) Ivan Ljubicic v. (11) David Ferrer
  • (15) Jurgen Melzer v. (3) (WC) Andy Murray
  • (5) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga v. (9) Juan Carlos Ferrero
  • (14) Juan Monaco v. (2) Rafael Nadal

The 1st round matches from the top of the draw through to the bottom half of the draw are:

Florent Serra v. Stephane Robert, Ernests Gulbis v. Marco Chiudinelli, Victor Hansecu v. (13) Stanislas Wawrinka, (12) Tommy Robredo v. Horacio Zeballos, Viktor Troicki v. Lukasz Kubot, David Nalbandian v. Andreas Beck, Igor Andreev v. (WC) Simone Bolelli, Olivier Rochus v. Andreas Seppi, Albert Montanes v. (16) Marcos Baghdatis, (10) Tomas Berdych v. Feliciano Lopez, (Q) v. (WC) Richard Gasquet, Julien Benneteau v. (Q), Fabio Fognini v. Michael Llodra, Jeremy Chardy v. (Q), (Q) v. (11) David Ferrer, (15) Jurgen Melzer v. Paul-Henri Mathieu, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez v. Philipp Petzschner, Thomaz Bellucci v. Philipp Kohlschreiber, Nicolas Almagro v. Simon Greul, (WC) Bernard Tomic v. Benjamin Becker, (Q) v. (9) Juan Carlos Ferrero, (14) Juan Monaco v. (Q), Michael Berrer v. Evgeny Korolev, (Q) v. Eduardo Schwank.

The players name that is bolded is OCA’s prediction of who will win each match. The final 2 wild cards went to World No.117 Simone Bolelli of Italy and World No.298 Bernard Tomic of Australia. Some players who originally entered the draw withdrew making the final cut off World No.65 Michael Llodra of France. As soon as the  qualifying event concludes (at the end of play on Sunday 11 April), we will update who qualified and who they play in the 1st round.

One thing that is very odd is that World No.147 David Nalbandian has been included in the draw despite not playing the qualifying draw or making the cut-off for the main draw. He is not listed as a wild card or a special exempt, but must have been allowed to enter under either of those path ways. The event has not indicated either though. Nalbandian’s current ranking is just high enough for him to make the cut-off for this years qualifying event is (No.155 Ivan Dodig of Croatia).

Pictured above is 21 year old Marin Cilic, who is set to fire his racquet into the ball with his forehand ground stroke. The Croatian has won 2 titles this year and has won 20 matches this year with just 4 losses. The 1.98m current World No.9 finished 2005 as the No.2 ranked junior in the world and won the Junior French Open title on clay. Cilic lives in Monte-Carlo and will feel right at home on the clay courts and he has beaten Nadal before in straight sets. Nadal has won the last 5 Monte-Carlo titles and Cilic, amongst others, will look to end Nadal’s run.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about Monte-Carlo. Click this link for more details including the Schedule of Play -> Monte-Carlo 2010: April 10-18.

© 2010

Share this link!


  1. Thank you for your question.
    Federer only plays 16 to 18 tournaments per year. Of the 9 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 8 of them are compulsory for those players ranked high enough to gain direct entry. However, Monte-Carlo is the only 1 that is not compulsory, so Federer decided not play.
    In fact, Federer’s schedule for 2010 has him in 18 rankings tournaments:
    4 Grand Slams
    8 Masters
    1 end of year championships in London
    3 ATP 250 events (Doha, Estoril & Halle) &
    2 ATP 500 events (Dubai & Basel).

Comments are closed.