Monte Carlo 2011 Men’s Singles Draw: Qualifying

The 2011 Monte Carlo Open men’s qualifying singles event begins on Saturday 9 April at 10:30am local time. There are 28 players in the qualifying draw divided up between 3 Wild Cards (WC), 1 Alternate (ALT) and 24 Direct Acceptances vying for 7 spots in the main draw. Peter Luczak of Australia was the last direct acceptance and was ranked No.165 at the cut-off date.

In this post the full men’s qualifying singles draw will be listed below plus a number of interesting facts about the qualifying. The official tournament name of Monte Carlo is the Monte Carlo Rolex Masters due to title sponsorship naming rights. Monte Carlo is an ATP Masters 1000 category tournament played on red clay courts from April 9 to 17.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage.

A qualifier earns 25 points for qualifying plus ten 1st round points for a total of 35 points if he loses in the 1st round. In comparison a 1st round loser who was a direct acceptance is awarded only 10 ATP ranking points. In fact a qualifier earns the ranking points that are awarded for the round he makes it too plus his 25 points he earned for qualifying throughout the tournament.

A qualifier who loses in the 3rd round earns 45 points for the amount allocated by round PLUS his 25 points for qualifying. Therefore, a qualifier who loses in the 3rd round earns 70 ranking points in total. There are 14 seeds in the qualifying which means that the highest 14 ranked players at the cut-off date are seeded to meet each other in the “Qualifying Round”.

The seeding will be done according to the ATP rankings as at 4 April and a seeded player occupies one of every 2 spots in the qualifying draw. The “Qualifying Round” is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. The seeds do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of the qualifying event. All players must win 2 matches in a row in order to qualify.

The qualifying draws are different to main draws because these events do not play off until there is one undefeated player. Therefore, the No.1 seed and the No.2 seed are not separated at the opposite ends of the draw and all 14 seeds are just listed down the draw.

To see the FULL 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play, prize money and ATP ranking points earned per round plus more details about the qualifying event click-> Monte Carlo 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play.

Pictured above is 2010 Monte Carlo semi finalist Novak DJOKOVIC after he has made contact with the ball for this double-handed backhand drive. The 23-year-old from Serbia lost to Fernando Verdasco in the semi finals in 2010. Djokovic achieved his career high ranking of No.2 on 1 February 2010 and is currently ranked No.2 posting a 24-0 win-loss record in 2011.

The 1.88m Djokovic has won all four tournaments he has played so far this year. Djokovic won his 2nd Grand Slam singles by capturing his second Australian Open; he won Dubai then back-to-back Masters 1000 singles titles at Indian Wells and Miami. Djokovic had to withdraw from Monte Carlo with a knee injury after posting a 5-0 record against Roger Federer (3-0) and Rafael Nadal (2-0 both Masters finals).

The Wild Cards: The three wild cards into the qualifying event were awarded to 2 locals-> Monaco’s own Benjamin BALLERET and Thomas OGER plus Australian Bernard TOMIC. Initially, there were 4 wild cards with Ilia STARKOV of Russia receiving a wild card but not showing up to play. Starkov was then replaced by an alternate (ALT) in David GUEZ of France.

The draw for the 2011 Monte Carlo Open Men’s qualifying singles event is:

  1. Mikhail KUKUSHKIN (1) versus Simone BOLELLI
  2. Vincent MILLOT v (12) Mischa ZVEREV
  3. Philipp PETZSCHNER (2) v Flavio CIPOLLA
  4. Federico DEL BONIS v (8) Frederico GIL
  5. Tobias KAMKE (3) v (WC) Benjamin BALLERET
  6. David GUEZ (ALT) v (9) Pere RIBA
  7. Filippo VOLANDRI (4) v Yuri SCHUKIN
  8. Peter LUCZAK v (14) Denis GREMELMAYR
  9. Olivier ROCHUS (5) v Benoit PAIRE
  11. Julien BENNETEAU (6) v Lukasz KUBOT
  12. Bernard TOMIC (WC) v (11) Rui MACHADO
  13. Michael BERRER (7) v Albert RAMOS
  14. Thomas OGER (WC) v (10) Maximo GONZALEZ

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Monte Carlo-> Monte Carlo 2011: April 9-17.

Creative Commons License photo credit: mbevis


Share this link!