Monte Carlo 2011 Men’s Singles Draw

The 2011 Monte Carlo Open men’s singles event begins on Sunday 10 April at 10:30am local time. There are 56 players in the draw divided up between 45 Direct Acceptances, 7 Qualifiers (Q) and 4 Wild Cards (WC). At the cut-off date Daniel Gimeno-Traver of Spain then ranked at No.61 was the last direct acceptance.

In this post the full men’s singles draw as soon as the draw is completed. The draw will take place at midday on Saturday April 9 in the VIP Village. The official tournament name of Monte Carlo is the Monte Carlo Rolex Masters due to title sponsorship naming rights and it is an ATP World Tour Masters 1000 category tournament played on red clay courts from April 9 to 17.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage.

The Seeds: In a 64-player sized draw there are 16 seeded players in order to keep the 1 seed for each 4 spots in the draw ratio according to tournament draw rules. Monte Carlo has 56 players in the draw so the Top 8 seeds receive a BYE in the 1st round and await the 24 winners of the 1st round matches in the 2nd round.

The seeding of players is according to the most recent rankings before the main singles draw is made, which is Monday 4 April. This means the points earned at the Miami Open will be reflected in the seeding for Monte Carlo.

The Wild Cards: On Tuesday 5 April two of the four five wild cards were awarded to late entrants Andy MURRAY and Tomas BERDYCH. The final two wild cards went to World No.690 Jean-Rene LISNARD who at 31-years-of-age represents MONACO and 32-year-old Czech Radek STEPANEK currently ranked at No.68.

The Qualifiers: The 24-player qualifying tournament begins on Saturday 9 April and are played over two days. As soon as the qualifying event is completed the names of the 7 qualifiers will be added into their allocated spots in the draw below and listed here-> Julien BENNETEAU, Vincent MILLOT, Olivier ROCHUS, Frederico GIL, Maximo GONZALEZ, Filippo VOLANDRI and Pere RIBA.

The 2010 Monte Carlo Open Men’s singles runner-up was No.6 seed Fernando VERDASCO who lost to fellow left-hander and Spaniard Rafael Nadal in his very first ATP World Tour Masters 1000 singles final. Verdasco is pictured above preparing to play his forehand drive on the clay or terre battue as it is called in French, at the Rome Open Masters 1000 in 2010.

To see the FULL 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play, prize money and ATP ranking points earned per round plus more details about the qualifying event click-> Monte Carlo 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play. Once the full draw is filled in below only the Top 8 seeds names will be bolded to make it easier to spot which Top 8 seeds are drawn to play each other for a spot in the semi finals.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • Rafael NADAL (1) v (13) Richard GASQUET
  • Jo-Wilfried TSONGA (12) v (5) (WC) Tomas BERDYCH
  • Andy MURRAY (WC) (3) v (16) Gilles SIMON
  • Mikhail YOUZHNY (10) v (8) Gael MONFILS

The seeded match ups for the bottom half of the draw are:

  • Fernando VERDASCO (6) v (11) Viktor TROICKI
  • Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV (14) v (4) David FERRER
  • Jurgen MELZER (7) v (9) Nicolas ALMAGRO
  • Marin CILIC (15) v (2) Roger FEDERER

The draw for the 2011 Monte Carlo Open Men’s singles event is:

  1. Rafael NADAL (1) v BYE
  2. Julien BENNETEAU (Q) v Jarkko NIEMINEN
  3. Vincent MILLOT (Q) v Guillermo GARCIA-LOPEZ
  4. Denis ISTOMIN v (13) Richard GASQUET
  5. Jo-Wilfried TSONGA (12) v Juan MONACO
  6. Jeremy CHARDY v Ivan LJUBICIC
  7. Olivier ROCHUS (Q) v Juan Ignacio CHELA
  8. BYE v (5) (WC) Tomas BERDYCH
  9. Andy MURRAY (WC) (3) v BYE
  10. Radek STEPANEK (WC) v Marcos BAGHDATIS
  11. Albert MONTANES v Xavier MALISSE
  12. Thomaz BELLUCCI v (16) Gilles SIMON
  13. Mikhail YOUZHNY (10) v Florian MAYER
  14. Frederico GIL (Q) v Sergiy STAKHOVSKY
  15. Daniel GIMENO-TRAVER v Santiago GIRALDO
  16. BYE v (8) Gael MONFILS

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Fernando VERDASCO (6) v BYE
  2. Tommy ROBREDO v Ivan DODIG
  3. Kevin ANDERSON v Fabio FOGNINI
  4. Jean-Rene LISNARD (WC) v (11) Viktor TROICKI
  5. Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV (14) v Ernests GULBIS
  6. Michael LLODRA v Milos RAONIC
  7. Janko TIPSAREVIC v Feliciano LOPEZ
  8. BYE v (4) David FERRER
  9. Jurgen MELZER (7) v BYE
  10. Nikolay DAVYDENKO v Robin HAASE
  11. Maximo GONZALEZ (Q) v Victor HANESCU
  12. Marcel GRANOLLERS v (9) Nicolas ALMAGRO
  13. Marin CILIC (15) v (Q) Filippo VOLANDRI
  14. Pere RIBA (Q) v Potito STARACE
  15. Andrey GOLUBEV v Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER
  16. BYE v (2) Roger FEDERER

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Monte Carlo-> Monte Carlo 2011: April 9-17.

Creative Commons License photo credit: mbevis