Monte Carlo 2012 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round

The 2012 Monte Carlo Open men’s main draw singles 1st round matches begin on Sunday 15 April at 12 noon local time at the Monte Carlo Country Club in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin in France (which borders on Monaco). Monte Carlo is one of only nine ATP Tour Masters 1000 category tournaments each year and has 56 players vying for the title, a maximum of 1,000 ATP ranking points and € 460,260 Euros in prize money for the winner.

Monte Carlo has a 64-draw divided up between 56 players: 7 Qualifiers (Q), 4 Wild Cards (WC), 45 Direct Acceptances and 8 BYES. The Top 16 ranked players amongst the 45 Direct Acceptances become the seeds and only the Top 8 seeds have a BYE in the 1st round. The 16 seeds were ranked from World No.1 (Novak DJOKOVIC) through to No.22 (Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV).

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. To watch the tennis in Singapore you need to add 6 hours to the local time in Monte Carlo to work out the equivalent Singapore time for this daily 2012 Monte Carlo results and Order of Play.

Click the following link for details about how you can buy Monte Carlo Open Official tennis tickets and for the full coverage of the Monte Carlo Open, including the entire tournament schedule of play, the round-by-round breakdown of prize money and ranking points.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • Novak DJOKOVIC (1) v (16) Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV
  • Juan MONACO (11) v (5) David FERRER
  • Andy MURRAY (3) v (15) Jurgen MELZER
  • Kei NISHIKORI (12) v (6) Tomas BERDYCH

The seeded match ups for the bottom half of the draw are:

  • Janko TIPSAREVIC (7) v (9) Gilles SIMON
  • Fernando VERDASCO (13) v (4) Jo-Wilfried TSONGA
  • Nicolas ALMAGRO (8) v (10) Feliciano LOPEZ
  • Florian MAYER (14) v (2) Rafael NADAL

The 2012 Monte Carlo Men’s singles draw is:

  1. Novak DJOKOVIC (1) v BYE
  2. Victor HANESCU (Q) v Andreas SEPPI
  3. Bernard TOMIC v Denis ISTOMIN
  4. Juan Ignacio CHELA v (16) Alexandr GOLGOPOLOV
  5. Juan MONACO (11) v Robin HAASE
  6. Michael LLODRA v Fabio FOGNINI
  7. Thomaz BELLUCCI v Kevin ANDERSON
  8. BYE v (5) David FERRER
  9. Andy MURRAY (3) v BYE
  10. Viktor TROICKI v (WC) Jean-Rene LISNARD
  11. Julien BENNETEAU v Marcel GRANOLLERS
  12. Lukasz KUBOT v (15) Jurgen MELZER
  13. Kei NISHIKORI (12) v Albert RAMOS
  14. Donald YOUNG v (WC) Paul-Henri MATHIEU
  15. Simone BOLELLI (Q) v Marin CILIC
  16. BYE v (6) Tomas BERDYCH

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Janko TIPSAREVIC (7) v BYE
  2. Milos RAONIC v Albert MONTANES
  3. Mikhail YOUZHNY v (Q) Frederico GIL
  4. Benjamin BALLERET (WC) v (9) Gilles SIMON
  5. Fernando VERDASCO (13) v Olivier ROCHUS
  6. Ivan LJUBICIC v Ivan DODIG
  7. Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER v (Q) Guillaume RUFIN
  8. BYE v (4) Jo-Wilfried TSONGA
  9. Nicolas ALMAGRO (8) v BYE
  10. Carlos BERLOCQ v (WC) Potito STARACE
  11. Federico DELBONIS (Q) v Pablo ANDUJAR
  12. Stanislas WAWRINKA v (10) Feliciano LOPEZ
  13. Florian MAYER (14) v (Q) Mikhail KUKUSHKIN
  14. Alessandro GIANNESSI (Q) v Filippo VOLANDRI
  15. Radek STEPANEK v Jarkko NIEMINEN
  16. BYE v (2) Rafael NADAL

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Beth Wilson


2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Monte Carlo Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage
  2. Monte Carlo 2012 Results and Order of Play | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.