Rome 2013 Men’s Singles Draw

Novak DjokovicThe 2013 Rome Open main draw men’s singles matches began on Sunday 12 May at 1pm local time in Rome. Below OnCourt Advantage details a number of interesting facts about the men’s singles main draw are provided, including when the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected.

The men’s singles draw has a 56-player draw consisting of 7 Qualifiers, 4 Wildcards and 45 Direct Acceptances of whom 16 become The Seeds. The direct acceptances are the 45 highest ranked players in the world at the cut-off date who are fit enough to compete.  The cut-off date for entry was 25 March 2013 and Albert RAMOS of Spain with a ranking of No.51 that week was the last direct acceptance.

The official Rome main draw ceremony was held at the Foro Italico on Friday 10 May. The full list of the men’s singles draw will be added here-> Rome 2013 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round. To watch the tennis in Singapore you need to add 6 hours to the local time in Rome to work out the equivalent Singapore time for this daily 2013 Rome Order of Play.

The Seeds:

A seeding is allocated to the 16 highest ranked players according to the latest ATP Tour rankings before the draw is made i.e. Monday 6 May 2013.

Only the Top 8 seeds receive a BYE in the 1st round and await the 24 winners of the 1st round matches in the 2nd round. This means that the the Top 8 seeds play one round against lower ranked opponent (unseeded player), before they meet another seed in the 3rd round.

The Wildcards:

All of the 4 wildcard recipients will be confirmed before Friday 10 May as the qualifying singles event will be drawn that day.

The names of the wildcards must be removed from the participating players list in the qualifying singles event before the official draw commences.

The wildcard recipients were all Italians-> the 3rd highest ranked Italian male Paolo LORENZI, No.5 Filippo VOLANDRI, No.6 Matteo VIOLA and No.14 Potito STARACE.

The Qualifiers:

The 28-player qualifying tournament began on Saturday 11 May and was played over two days. The 7 qualifiers names were then drawn and added to complete the main singles draw in the evening of Sunday 11 May.

Photo credit: Marianne Bevis