Shanghai Open 2010 Men’s Singles Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:mbevis

The 2010 Shanghai Open men’s main draw singles matches will begin on Sunday 10 October at 6pm local time in Shanghai, China with 2 first round matches one after the other on the Centre Court. There are 56 main draw spots divided up between 7 Qualifiers (Q), 4 Wild Cards (WC), 45 Direct Acceptances.

The last direct acceptance into the main draw was Eduardo Schwank of Argentina at World No.57. This means the strength and attendance oat this tournament with 45 of the Top 57 playing and more importantly everyone of the Top 25 ranked men. World No.26 Juan Carlos Ferrero is injured and out for the remainder of the year.

There are 3 Chinese men and 2 from Chinese Taipei (Taiwan) in the singles main draw, 4 of whom received the only 4 wild cards in a strong show of support by the Chinese Tennis Federation. The only direct acceptance was the No.1 ranked player from an Asian country (Taiwan) Lu Yen-Hsun at World No.45. The Chinese wild card entrants are the No.1 ranked Chinese man Zhang Ze at No.304, Wu Di at No.396 and Bai Yan at No.538. The 4th wild card went to Taiwan’s No.2, Yang Tsung-Hua at No.296.

The official name of the Shanghai Open now that there is a new title sponsor for 2010 is the Shanghai Rolex Masters and it is the 8th of the 9 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments each year. These MAJOR tournaments have varying sized main draws.

The Indian Wells Open and the Miami Open have the largest draws with 96 spots, whilst the Paris Open has the smallest draw with 48. The remaining 6 Masters 1000 tournaments all have a 56-player draw, including Shanghai. In a 56-player draw there are 16 seeded players and they will be selected according to the ATP rankings on the final Monday before this event commences.

Only the Top 8 seeded players have a BYE in the 1st round, whilst seeds 9 to 16 must play in the 1st round. The Top 8 seeds await the 24 winners of the 1st round matches.

Pictured above is 2009 Shanghai Open Men’s Singles semi finalist Novak Djokovic after making contact with the ball and his tennis racquet for this backhand volley. The 23 year old from Serbia is the current World No.2 and is the second player to qualify for one ONLY 8 spots in ATP Tour Finals in London. Djokovic uses the HEAD YouTek Speed Pro tennis racquet.

To get the best deal in Hong Kong on tennis racquets and tennis gear click here. The 1.88m Djokovic has now qualified for the ATP Tour Finals for 4 years in a row. His best performance at that tournament was winning the singles title at the 2008 event, which was held in Shanghai at the venue that was built especially to host the ATP Tour Finals and is now used for the Shanghai Open.

The 2010 Shanghai Open men’s singles match-ups for the seeded players, if they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • (1) Rafael Nadal versus (13) Jurgen Melzer
  • (9) Fernando Verdasco v. (6) Nikolay Davydenko
  • (4) Andy Murray v. (16) Nicolas Almagro
  • (12) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga v. (8) Mikhail Youzhny

Which are the match ups for the top half of the draw. In the bottom half of the draw, the players who are seeded to meet are:

  • (5) Robin Soderling v. (11) David Ferrer
  • (14) Marin Cilic v. (3) Roger Federer
  • (7) Tomas Berdych v. (10) Andy Roddick
  • (15) Gael Monfils v. (2) Novak Djokovic

The player’s name that is bolded in the 1st round singles draw below is OCA’s prediction of who will win each match. Where there is a Qualifier, no prediction is made because it depends which player will take that spot. Once the qualifying is finalised, we will update which players go into the above spots reserved for qualifiers.

The 2010 Shanghai Open men’s singles draw for the 1st round is:

  1. (1) Rafael Nadal v. BYE
  2. Gilles Simon v. Stanislas Wawrinka
  3. Denis Istomen v. Mardy Fish
  4. (WC) Yang Tsung-Hua v. (13) Jurgen Melzer
  5. (9) Fernando Verdasco v. Thiemo De Bakker
  6. Juan Monaco v. Qualifier (Q)
  7. (Q) v. Sergiy Stakhovsky
  8. BYE v. (6) Nikolay Davydenko
  9. (4) Murray v. BYE
  10. Radek Stepanek v. (WC) Bai Yan
  11. (Q) v. Marcos Baghdatis
  12. Alexandr Dolgopolov v. (16) Nicolas Almagro
  13. (12) Jo-Wilfried Tsonga v. Feliciano Lopez
  14. Sam Querrey v. Michael Berrer
  15. Florian Mayer v. (Q)
  16. BYE v. (8) Mikhail Youzhny
  17. (5) Robin Soderling v. BYE
  18. Andrey Golubev v. Janko Tipsarevic
  19. Thomaz Bellucci v. (Q)
  20. Michael Llodra v. (11) David Ferrer
  21. (14) Marin Cilic v. Andreas Seppi
  22. (WC) Wu Di v. Lu Yen-Hsun
  23. (Q) v. John Isner
  24. BYE v. (3) Roger Federer
  25. (7) Tomas Berdych v. BYE
  26. Albert Montanes v. Tommy Robredo
  27. Eduardo Schwank v. Guillermo Garcia-Lopez
  28. Philipp Kohlschreiber v. (10) Andy Roddick
  29. (15) Gael Monfils v. (Q)
  30. Ernests Gulbis v. Richard Gasquet
  31. Ivan Ljubicic v. (WC) Zhang Ze
  32. BYE v. (2) Novak Djokovic

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Shanghai Open including the schedule of play -> Shanghai Open 2010: October 9-17.

© 2010

Share this link!