Canada 2010 Women’s Qualifying Draw

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:Jet Magbanua

The 2010 Canadian Open women’s qualifying singles event begins on Friday 13 August at 10am local time in Montreal. The qualifying event will be completed on Sunday 15 August. The qualifying matches are best of 3 tie-break sets. The final set is NOT an advantage set so is decided by a tie-break at 6 games all, just like the final set is at the US Open.

There are 64 spots in the qualifying draw of which 11 were wild cards and 53 direct acceptances. The last direct acceptance into the qualifying draw was Alexandra Stevenson ranked at No.3o8. Stevenson made the semi finals of Wimbledon in 1999 as an 18 year old. One of every 4 of those spots in the draw is occupied by a seeded player. There are 16 seeds in the qualifying which means that the highest 16 ranked players at the cut-off date are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round”.

The Qualifying Round is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. In Canada there are 8 spots in the main draw of the women’s singles event allocated for qualifiers. OCA will be following the Canadian Open including the qualifying results, so visit here regularly and ask any questions you would like to know about the Canadian tournament or anything about tennis.

There are 8 Canadian women in the qualifying draw, 3 of them were direct acceptances (Sharon Fichman, Rebecca Marino and  Heidi El Tabakh) and 5 of them received wild cards (Eugenie Bouchard, Marie-Eve Pelletier, Ekaterina Shulaaeva, Elisabeth Abanda and Gabriela Dabrowski). These Canadian women will be aiming for a far better outcome than last year at Canada where only Heidi El Tabakh Oudin qualified out of the Canadians.

The players, who lose in the 1st round of qualifying earn 475 US dollars and 1 WTA ranking point. The players who win through to the 2nd round of qualifying but are then defeated, earn 1,000 US dollars and 12 WTA ranking points. The players who win through to the qualifying round but are then defeated earn 2,000 US dollars and earn 20 WTA ranking points.

Players who qualify for the main draw will earn 5,400 US dollars and 30 WTA ranking points if they are defeated in the 1st round of the main draw. That means they received 30 times the amount that a direct acceptance receives when she loses her 1st round match, as the direct acceptance only earns 1 WTA ranking point for a 1st round loss. Do you think that is a fair way to allocate points?

The seeds do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of the qualifying event. All players must win 2 matches in a row in order to qualify. The qualifying draws are different to main draws because these events do not play off until there is one undefeated player. Therefore, the No.1 seed and the No.2 seed are not separated at the opposite ends of the draw.

The Top 16 seeds in the main draw of qualifying have ALL been separated from each other as they are seeded to be the players who do qualify. The whole 16 seeds are just listed down the draw. The 16 seeds are bolded in the draw below.

Pictured above is World No.1 Serena Williams getting into position to play this double handed backhand. The 28 year old American is injured and not playing in Canada this year. The 1.75 former Canadian Open champion is working on being ready in time to compete at the US Open later this month.

Serena’s injury and the fact that she made the semi finals of the US Open last year and won the end of year WTA Tour Finals means that the World No.1 ranking is up for grabs over the next 2 and a half months. It will be very interesting to see who can rise up above the rest of the field for the remainder of the 2010 WTA Tour calendar.

The draw for the 2010 Cincinnati Open Women’s qualifying singles event is:

  1. (1) Barbora Strycova Zahlavova versus (WC) Maria Kondratieva
  2. Monica Niculescu v. Varara Lepchenko
  3. Bojana Jovanovski v. Sharon Fichman
  4. Kurumi Nara v. (13) Sorana Cirstea
  5. (17) Chang Kai-Chen v. Rebecca Marino
  6. Mariana Duque Marino v. Mathilde Johansson
  7. Alison Riske v. (WC) Eugenie Bouchard
  8. (WC) Tamaryn Hendler v. (10) Ekaterina Makarova
  9. (3) Patty Schnyder v. Julie Ditty
  10. (WC) Marie-Eve Pelletier v. Nuria Vives Llagostera
  11. (WC) Ekaterina Shulaaeva v. Anastasia Pivovarova
  12. (WC) Elisabeth Abanda v. (14) Iveta Benesova
  13. (4) Roberta Vinci v. Julie Coin
  14. Ajla Tomljanovic v. Bethanie Mattek-Sands
  15. Tamira Paszek v. Anna-Lena Groenefeld
  16. Michaella Krajicek v. (11) Vera Dushevina
  17. (5) Elena Baltacha v. Ayumi Morita
  18. Lucie Hradecka v. Pauline Parmentier
  19. Stephanie Cohen-Aloro v. (WC) Gabriela Dabrowski
  20. (WC) Vladimira Uhlirova v. (15) Alize Cornet
  21. (6) Aranxta Parra Santonja v. Marina Erakovic
  22. Karolina Sprem v. Olga Savchuk
  23. Andrea Hlavackova v. Heidi El Tabakh
  24. Alla Kudryavtseva v. (15) Tathiana Garbin
  25. (7) Kimiko Date Krumm v. Katie O’Brien
  26. Alicia Molik v. Urszula Radwanska
  27. (WC) Abigail Spears v. Julia Cohen
  28. Sophie Ferguson v. (9) Jarmila Groth
  29. (18) Alberta Brianti v. Chanelle Scheepers
  30. Greta Arn v. Simona Halep
  31. Sania Mirza v. Aranxta Rus
  32. Alexandra Stevenson v. (16) Vania King

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Canada including the schedule of play -> Canada 2010: August 7-22.

© 2010