Canada 2010 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 10th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour is Montreal in Canada. The Canadian Open, which is now called the Rogers Cup, is one of the major tournaments on the WTA Tour calendar. It is a major tournament because it 1 of only 5 WTA Premier FIVE category events.

Each year this event alternates on where it is held in Canada between Toronto and Montreal. The even numbered years are played in Montreal and the odd numbered years are played in Toronto. This year the women are playing at the Uniprix Stadium in Montreal.

The Rogers Cup begins on Friday 13 August for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 22 August. The 1st round matches of the main draw begin on Monday 16 August.

This event was formerly known as the Canadian Open and was first held in 1881. After Wimbledon and the US Open it is the longest running tournament in tennis history.

Pictured above is the 2009 Rogers Cup singles champion Elena Dementieva taking up her stance in preparation to commence her service action. The 1.8m Dementieva will be going for her 4th major title on the WTA Tour, besides Canada, she won the 2006 Japan Open and the 2007 Moscow Open (no longer a major tournament).

The 28 year old from Russia achieved her career high ranking of World No.3 last year and will be looking to perform well over the next 2 months in order to qualify for the WTA Tour Finals for the 1oth time. Dementieva was a semi finalist in the 1998 Junior Roland Garros Championships singles tournament and achieved her career best girl’s ITF Junior ranking of No.4.

In this post we will cover how the WTA Tour ranking points and prize money are allocated, and what the schedule of play is for the Women’s Singles Draw.

The total financial commitment for the 2010 Rogers Cup is 2 million dollars (in US dollars). The winner of the Women’s Singles Final in Montreal takes home $350,000.

The WTA ranking points and prize money (in US dollars) for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 800 points + $350,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 550 points + $175,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 350 points + $87,500;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 200 points + $40,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 110 points + $20,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 60 points + $10,275;
  7. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 1 point + $5,400.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $1,500 and 1 ranking point. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $2,900 and 20 points. The players who qualify earn 30 points and at least $5,400.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 30 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their first match, only earn 1 point. In fact, all players who lose in any 1st round earn 1 ranking point, besides a player who qualifies for the main draw of the singles event, including wild card entrants in both the main draw and the qualifying singles draw.

The matches each day are played in a day session beginning at 11am each day, except for the first 3 days, which begin at 10am. The night session starts at 7pm each day from Monday to Saturday. All of the times for each day are listed below. The first three days of the tournament feature the qualifying event.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the 2010 Rogers Cup Women’s singles event in Montreal is:

  • Friday 13 August: Qualifying 1st round from 10am;
  • Saturday 14 August: Qualifying 2nd round from 10am;
  • Sunday 15 August: Qualifying 3rd round from 10am;
  • Monday 16 August: Main Draw 1st round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Tuesday 17 August: 1st & 2nd round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Wednesday 18 August: 2nd round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Thursday 19 August: Round of 16 from 11am & 7pm;
  • Friday 20 August: Quarter Finals from 11am & 7pm;
  • Saturday 21 August: 1st Semi at 12:30pm & 2nd Semi Final at 7pm;
  • Sunday 22 August: Women’s Singles Final at 1:30pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Canada including the schedule of play-> Canada 2010: August 7 – 22.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: mrlaugh

Share this link!