China 2010 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 13th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour is the China Open in Beijing. The China Open is the 4th and final Premier Mandatory category tournament each year making it one of the major events on the WTA Tour each year. The China Open is held at the Olympic Green Tennis Center, which was built especially for the 2008 Beijing Olympics National Tennis Centre on Deco Turf hard courts.

The 3 main courts are dodecagonal, so have 12 sides to make them look like a lotus flower. The main courts are named after lotus flowers because the lotus flower was an emblem for the Beijing Olympics. The centre court is called the Lotus Court and accommodates 12,000 spectators. The second main court is called the Moon Court and holds 4,000 spectators, whilst the third court holds 2,000 spectators.

Pictured above is the 2009 China Open Women’s singles runner-up Agnieszka Radwanska who is preparing to play a slice backhand ground stroke as the ball approaches her.

The 1.72m Radwanska from Poland is the No.6 seed this year compared to No.11 last year and is currently ranked No.9 just one place below her career best, which she first achieved on February 22 this year.

Radwanska lost 6-2 6-4 to Svetlana Kuznetsova in the 2009 Women’s Singles Final and earned 700 WTA Ranking points, so needs to perform extremely well to make sure she does not drop out of the Top 10.

This tournament begins on Friday 1 October for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 10 October. The 1st round matches of the main draw begin on Saturday 2 October. The Qualifying draw will be announced on Thursday 30 September and the Main Draw will be announced on Friday 1 October.

The China Open has a 60-player main draw and a 32-player qualifying draw. In this post we will cover how the WTA Tour ranking points and prize money are allocated, and what the schedule of play is for the Women’s Singles Draw. The total prize money for the 2010 China Open women’s singles event is $4,500,000 US dollars.

This China Open begins whilst the Japan Open is still running, Therefore, instead of the usual 8 first round byes that are allocated to the Top 8 seeds only 4 byes are awarded and they go to the 4 semi finalists at the Japan Open in Tokyo. Of the 56 main draw spots 8 places are allocated to qualifiers, 5 to wild cards and 43 to direct acceptances. There are 16 seeded players who are determined according to the WTA rankings as at the last Monday before the tournament begins, which was 27 September this year.

The WTA ranking points and prize money (in US dollars) for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 1,000 points + $775,500;
  2. The runner-up earns 700 points + $387,750;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 450 points + $169,445;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 250 points + $74,450;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 140 points + $37,225;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 80 points + $19,950;
  7. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + $10,340.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $1,350 and 1 WTA ranking point. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $2,610 and 20 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn a minimum of $10,340 and 30 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 30 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 5 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 30 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 80 points for making the 2nd round plus 30 points for qualifying. Which means 110 points would be added to their ranking total.

The first four days of the tournament feature the qualifying event. Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the 2010 China Open Women’s Singles event in Beijing is:

  • Friday 1 October: Qualifying 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Saturday 2 October: Qualifying 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Sunday 3 October: Main Draw 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Monday 4 October: 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Tuesday 5 October: 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Wednesday 6 October: 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Thursday 7 October: Round of 16 from 12 noon;
  • Friday 8 October: Quarter Finals from 1pm; and
  • Saturday 9 October: Semi Finals from 1pm; and
  • Sunday 10 October: Women’s Singles Final at 1pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the China Open -> China Open 2010: October 1-10.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: chascow

Share this link!