China Open 2010 Women’s Singles Draw: Qualifying

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:swampa

The 2010 China Open women’s qualifying singles event begins today – Friday 1 October at 12 noon local time in Beijing (so, also 12 noon in Hong Kong). The qualifying event will be completed on Saturday 2  October. China has 4.5 million US dollars in prize money and is one of only 4 Premier Mandatory level tournaments each year making it one of THE major events on the WTA Tour.

The China Open is held at the Olympic Green Tennis Center, which was built especially for the 2008 Beijing Olympics National Tennis Centre on Deco Turf hard courts. There are 32 spots in the qualifying draw of which 5 were wild cards and 27 direct acceptances. There are 16 seeds in the qualifying which means that the highest 16 ranked players at the cut-off date are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round”. A seeded player occupies one of every 2 spots in the draw.

The Qualifying Round is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. At the China Open there are 8 spots in the main draw of the women’s singles event allocated for qualifiers. OCA will be following the China Open including the qualifying results, so visit here regularly and ask any questions you would like to know about this tournament or anything about tennis.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $1,350 and 1 WTA ranking point. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $2,610 and 20 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn a minimum of $10,340 and 30 points. The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 30 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 30 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 80 points for making the 2nd round plus 30 points for qualifying. Which means 110 points would be added to their ranking total.

There are 7 Chinese women in the qualifying singles draw, 2 direct acceptances: World No.255 Lu Jing-Jing and No.268 Xu Yi-Fan plus 5 wild card entrants: No.452 Liu Shaozhuo, No.860 Liu Wanting, No.355 Duan Ying-Ying, No.711 Liang Chen and No.690 Zhang Kai-Lin.

The 5 wild cards have been announced for the singles main draw, they are No.59 Peng Shuai, No.262 Sun Shengnan, No.144 Han Xinyun, No.289 Zhou Yi-Miao and No.84 Zhang Shuai all from China. This means the Chinese Tennis Federation gave all 10 wild cards to local players in effect giving out 30 WTA ranking points in total even if all 10 players lose their first match.

The seeds do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of the qualifying event. All players must win 2 matches in a row in order to qualify. The qualifying draws are different to main draws because these events do not play off until there is one undefeated player. Therefore, the No.1 seed and the No.2 seed are not separated at the opposite ends of the draw.

The Top 16 seeds in the main draw of qualifying have ALL been separated from each other as they are seeded to be the players who do qualify. All 16 seeds are just listed down the draw. The 16 seeds are bolded in the draw below.

Pictured above is 2009 Japan Open Women’s Singles champion Svetlana Kuznetsova as she is swinging her tennis racquet forward to make contact with the ball for this forehand ground stroke. The 25 year old from Russia is a former World No.2 and double Grand Slam singles champion after winning the 2009 Roland Garros title to go with her 2004 US Open title.

The 1.74m Kuznetsova performs especially well in Beijing having won the singles title twice (also in 2006) and making it to the final in all 4 years that she has played this tournament. Kuznetsova uses the HEAD YouTek Extreme Pro tennis racquet. If you are in Hong Kong and want her racquet or advice on which racquet would be the best for you to use, just email

The draw for the 2010 China Open Women’s qualifying singles event is:

  • (1) Ekaterina Makarova versus Ekaterina Dzehalevich
  • Zarina Diyas v. (11) Vania King
  • (2) Carla Suarez Navarro v. Tatiana Poutchek
  • Lu Jing-Jing v. (15) Chang Kai-Chen
  • (3) Anastasija Sevastova v. (WC) Liu Shaozhuo
  • Chanelle Scheepers v. (12) Tathiana Garbin
  • (4) Alla Kudryavtseva v. Nuria Llagostera Vives
  • Sophie Ferguson v. (10) Monica Niculescu
  • (5) Roberta Vinci v. Xu Yi-Fan
  • Corinna Dentoni v. (9) Akgul Amanmuradova
  • (6) Vera Dushevina v. Sacha Jones
  • Greta Arn v. (13) Tamira Paszek
  • (7) Anna Chakvetadze v. (WC) Liu Wanting
  • (WC) Duan Ying-Ying v. (14) Katernya Bondarenko
  • (8) Aranxta Parra Santonja v. (WC) Liang Chen
  • (WC) Zhang Kai-Lin v. (16) Bojana Jovanovski

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the China Open including the schedule of play -> China Open 2010: October 1-10.

© 2010

Share this link!


  1. Finally, an issue that I am passionate about. I have looked for information of this caliber for the last several hours. Your site is greatly appreciated.

  2. Terrific work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this post higher!

Comments are closed.