China Open 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 13th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour is the China Open in Beijing. The China Open is the 4th and final Premier Mandatory level tournament this year making it one of the most important tournaments on the WTA Tour each year. To watch the tennis in Singapore you can work off the local Beijing times listed below, as the time in Beijing is the same as it is in Singapore.

This tournament begins on Friday 30 September for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 9 October. The 1st round matches of the main draw begin on Saturday 1 October at THE biggest women’s tennis tournament of the year in Asia. The China Open is held at the Olympic Green Tennis Center, which was built especially for the 2008 Beijing Olympics and is the National Tennis Centre with a Deco Turf hard court surface.

Click this link to buy China Open Official tennis tickets. To follow this site in real time click-> Twitter @OnCourtAd and to join the friends of this site click-> Facebook OnCourt Advantage.

The 3 main courts are dodecagonal, so have 12 sides to make them look like a lotus flower. The main courts are named after lotus flowers because the lotus flower was an emblem for the Beijing Olympics. The centre court is called the Lotus Court and accommodates 12,000 spectators. The second main court is called the Moon Court and holds 4,000 spectators, whilst the third court holds 2,000 spectators.

This post will cover how the WTA ranking points plus prize money are allocated and what the schedule of play is. The total prize money for the 2011 China Open in Beijing for the women’s singles event is $4,500,000 US dollars. The China Open has a 60-player main draw and a 32-player qualifying draw.

This China Open begins whilst the Japan Open is still running, Therefore, instead of the usual 8 first round byes that are allocated to the Top 8 seeds only 4 byes are awarded and they go to the four semi finalists at the Japan Open in Tokyo. Of the 60 main draw spots 8 places are allocated to qualifiers, 5 to wild cards and 47 to direct acceptances. There are 16 seeded players who are determined according to the WTA rankings as at the last Monday before the tournament begins, which will be 26 September.

Pictured above is the 2010 China Open Women’s singles champion Caroline WOZNIACKI after she has set the ball in place and is preparing to launch into the contact point during her service motion at the 2011 Copenhagen Open in Denmark. The 21-year-old Wozniacki won 6 WTA singles titles in 2010 and has already won another 6 singles titles so far this year.

The 1.77m Wozniacki from Denmark first claimed the World No.1 ranking by winning the 2010 China Open and has held the No.1 spot ever since. In fact, after being beaten by Serena Williams in the 2011 US Open semi finals Wozniacki opened up probably her biggest lead as the World No.1 because the 2010 US Open winner and runner-up did not play this year and lost in the quarter finals respectively this year. Kim Clijsters by missing the US Open injured lost 2,000 ranking points whereas, Vera Zvonareva lost 900 point from being defeated by eventual champion Samantha Stosur in the quarter finals.

The WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 1,000 points + $775,500;
  2. The runner-up earns 700 points + $387,750;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 450 points + $169,447;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 250 points + $74,450;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 140 points + $37,225;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 80 points + $19,950;
  7. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + $11,817.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $1,350 and 1 WTA ranking point. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $2,610 and 20 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn a minimum of $11,817 and 30 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 30 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 5 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 30 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 80 points for making the 2nd round plus 30 points for qualifying, which means 110 points would be added to their ranking total.

The first four days of the tournament feature the qualifying event. Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the 2011 China Open Women’s Singles event in Beijing is:

  • Friday 30 September: Qualifying 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Saturday 1 October: Qualifying 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Saturday 1 October: Main Draw 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Sunday 2 October: Main Draw 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Monday 3 October: 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Tuesday 4 October: 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Wednesday 5 October: 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Thursday 6 October: Round of 16 from 12 noon;
  • Friday 7 October: Quarter Finals from 1pm; and
  • Saturday 8 October: Semi Finals from 1pm; and
  • Sunday 9 October: Women’s Singles Final at 7:30pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. 

© 2011

Creative Commons License photo credit: flemming. d5100

Share this link!