China Open 2011 Women’s Singles Draw

 The 2011 China Open women’s main draw singles matches begin on Saturday 1 October at 12 noon local time in Beijing in China. To watch the tennis in Singapore follow the times in Beijing as they are the same. The full singles draw including who all the qualifiers play is listed below. There are 60 main draw spots divided up between 8 Qualifiers (Q), 5 Wild Cards (WC) and 47 Direct Acceptances.

The 47 direct acceptances are decided according to whom the Top 47 ranked players in the world that enter this year by 22 August 2011. This year the cut-off for the last direct acceptance was Kimiko Date-Krumm of Japan who was ranked No.57 at the cut-off date. If any direct acceptances and/or wild card entrants withdraw after the first round of qualifying is completed then those spots are awarded to lucky losers.

Click this link to buy China Open Official tennis tickets. Click this link-> China Open 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play to see the FULL details about: prize money and WTA ranking points earned per round plus more details about the qualifying event.

Pictured above is 2010 China Open runner-up Vera ZVONAREVA just after making contact with the ball with this forehand on her way to the semi finals of the 2011 Australian Open. The 27-year-old Zvonareva lost 3-6, 6-3, 3-6 last year to World No.1 Caroline Wozniacki in the final and was in the running to claim the year-end World No.1 ranking at the WTA Tour Finals.

The 1.74m Zvonareva achieved her career-high ranking to date of No.2 the day before the 2010 WTA Tour Finals. The Russian will have a chance to earn the No.1 ranking for the first time again at the WTA Tour Finals if Wozniacki is upset again defending the China Open as she was defending the Japan Open earlier this week. Zvonareva was a runner-up at Wimbledon and the US Open in 2010 and has twice been a semi finalist at the Australian Open in the past 3 years.

The Seeds:

In a 60-player draw there are 16 seeded players and they were selected according to the WTA rankings on the final Monday before this event commences. This year the seeding will be based on the WTA rankings as at September 26. The Top 8 seeds have been bolded in the draw below.

When there are only 4 Byes as at the China Open, seeds 1 to 4 would usually be the only players to receive a bye. The Japan Open singles final is held on the same day as the 1st round of the China Open the byes so the four byes do NOT go to the Top 4 seeds and instead go to the four semi finalists from the Japan Open to allow them to play in both tournaments. 

The draw for the seeded players if they all win through to the round of 16 is:

  • Caroline WOZNIACKI (1) versus (14) Sabine LISICKI
  • PENG Shuai (12) v (7) Francesca SCHIAVONE
  • Vera ZVONAREVA (3) v (16) Svetlana KUZNETSOVA
  • Agnieszka RADWANSKA (11) v (5) Petra KVITOVA
  • Samantha STOSUR (6) v (10) Jelena JANKOVIC
  • Roberta VINCI (15) v (4) LI Na
  • Marion BARTOLI (8) v (9) Andrea PETKOVIC
  • Anastasia PAVLYUCHENKOVA (13) v (2) Victoria AZARENKA

The draw for the 2011 China Open Women’s singles event is:

  1. Caroline WOZNIACKI (1) v Lucie HRADECKA
  3. Kaia KANEPI v (WC) ZHENG Saisai
  4. Irina-Camelia BEGU v (14) Sabine LISICKI
  5. PENG Shuai (12) v Flavia PENNETTA
  6. Daniela HANTUCHOVA v (Q) Eleni DANIILIDOU
  7. ZHANG Shuai (WC) v Dominika CIBULKOVA
  8. Bojana JOVANOVSKI v (7) Francesca SCHIAVONE
  9. Vera ZVONAREVA (3) v BYE
  10. Klara ZAKOPALOVA v Nadia PETROVA
  11. Kimiko DATE-KRUMM v Ana IVANOVIC
  12. Alexandra DULGHERU v (16) Svetlana KUZNETSOVA
  13. Agnieszka RADWANSKA (11) v BYE
  14. ZHENG Jie (WC) v Alberta BRIANTI
  16. BYE v (5) Petra KVITOVA
The bottom half of the draw is:
  1. Samantha STOSUR (6) v Tsvetana PIRONKOVA
  2. Julia GOERGES v Maria KIRILENKO
  3. Sara ERRANI v Petra CETKOVSKA
  4. Tamira PASZEK v (10) Jelena JANKOVIC
  5. Roberta VINCI (15) v Rebecca MARINO
  6. Gisela DULKO (WC) v (Q) Virginie RAZZANO
  7. HU Yue-Yue (WC) v (Q) Chanelle SCHEEPERS
  8. Monica NICULESCU (Q) v (4) LI Na
  9. Marion BARTOLI (8) v Iveta BENESOVA
  10. Ayumi MORITA v (Q) Christina MCHALE
  11. Carla SUAREZ NAVARRO (Q) v Ekaterina MAKAROVA
  12. Lucie SAFAROVA v (9) Andrea PETKOVIC
  14. Shahar PE’ER v Maria Jose MARTINEZ SANCHEZ
  15. Laura ROBSON (Q) v Polona HERCOG
  16. BYE v (2) Victoria AZARENKA

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. 

© 2011

© photo credit: 6cab
Share this link!

1 Comment

  1. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute and assist other visitors like you helped me. Good job.

Comments are closed.