Cincinnati 2010 Women’s Qualies

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:pfctdayelise

The 2010 Cincinnati Open women’s qualifying singles event began on Saturday 7 August with 48 players battling for the 12 spots allocated to qualifiers in the main draw of the singles event. The final round of qualifying is scheduled to be completed today with play beginning at 10am local time in Cincinnati.

Of the 24 seeds in the qualifying 5 of them were defeated in the 1st round, leaving 19 seeds in “The Qualifying Round”. The Qualifying Round is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. One match was not played due to a travel problem for No.5 seed Sorana Cirstea and will be played today.

Natalie Grandin of South Africa took Akgul Amanmuradova’s spot in the draw when Amanmuradova became the 25th seed and took No.2 seed Roberta Vinci, whose spot in the draw was vacated when she was bumped up into the main draw. Mirjana Lucic could not take in her spot in the draw due to travel problems, so was replaced by Liga Dekmeijere from Latvia.

Of the 13 American women in the qualifying draw, 5 of them are still in contention with 8 American women being defeated in the 1st round of qualifying. Vania King, Jill Craybas, Varvara Lepchenko, Daniele Mills and Julie Ditty will be flying the star spangled banner today in an effort to qualify for the main draw.

Pictured above is Sybille Bammer in position to fire her racquet at the incoming ball with her double handed backhand. The Austrian left hander made the quarter finals at Cincinnati last year by knocking out Agnieszka Radwanska and then upsetting Serena Williams.

The 30 year old Bammer will be looking to have another great run this year on her favourite hard courts. Bammer’s best ranking to date is No.19 which she first achieved on December 17 2008 and her best grand slam singles result was making the quarter finals of the 2008 US Open.

In the draw below (WC) stands for wild card and a line through a players name means that player was seeded to win through to the next round but was defeated. The player’s name that is bolded in the draw below is OCA’s prediction of who will win each match.

The draw for the 2nd round of the 2010 Cincinnati women’s qualifying singles event is:

  1. (1) Kanepi (WC) Hsieh Su-Wei versus Nuria Vives Llagostera (24) Perry
  2. (25) Akgul Amanmuradova v. (22) Varvara Lepchenko
  3. (3) Baltacha Julie Ditty v. (16) Bojana Jovanovski
  4. (4) Kimiko Date Krumm v. (18) Jill Craybas
  5. (5) Sorana Cirstea OR (WC) Daniele Mills v. (15) Simona Halep
  6. (6) Ekaterina Makarova v. (14) Alla Kudryavtseva
  7. (7) Anastasia Rodionova v. (23) Julie Coin
  8. (8) Vera Dushevina v. Michaella Krajicek (17) Gallovits
  9. (9) Chan Yung-Jan v. (20) Monica Niculescu
  10. (10) Vania King v. (19) Kurumi Nara
  11. (11) Ayumi Morita v. Lucie Hradecka (13) Sprem
  12. (12) Chanelle Scheepers v. (21) Greta Arn

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about the 2010 Cincinnati singles events. Click this link for more details including both of the schedules of play -> Cincinnati 2010: August 7-22.

© 2010

Share this link!