Cincinnati 2010 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 9th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour is Cincinnati in the USA. The Western and Southern Financial Group Women’s Open in Cincinnati is one of the major tournaments on the WTA Tour calendar. It is a major tournament because it 1 of only 5 WTA Premier FIVE category events.

In 2003 Cincinnati bought the rights to a women’s tournament that was being held in Bol, Croatia so that from 2004 Cincinnati could hold a women’s professional tournament. In 2009 Cincinnati became a major tournament on the women’s calendar by being upgraded into a Premier FIVE event for the first time. Cincinnati is played on hard courts at the Lindner Family Tennis Centre in the suburb of Mason, Ohio in Cincinnati and hosted the largest women’s field in its history.

Cincinnati begins on Saturday 7 August for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 15 August. The 1st round matches of the main draw begin on Monday 9 August.

This event was originally known as the Cincinnati Open and began in 1899. The tournament has had 6 name changes and 3 of those were for title sponsorship rights. In 2002 the current title sponsor Western & Southern Financial Group signed on.

In this post we will cover how the WTA Tour ranking points and prize money are allocated, and what the schedule of play is for the Women’s Singles Draw.

The total financial commitment for the 2010 W&SFG Masters is 3 million dollars and for the W&SFG Women’s Open is 2 million dollars (in US dollars). The winner of the Women’s Singles Final in Cincinnati takes home $350,000 and the winner of the Men’s Singles Final collects $443,000.

Pictured above is the 2009 Cincinnati singles champion Jelena Janković having placed the ball up and getting herself positioned to go after this serve. The 1.77m Janković will be going for her 9th major (Premier Mandatory or Premier FIVE category), singles title when she defends her title this year. The 25-year-old from Serbia is a former World No.1 and the 2008 WTA Tour Champion.

Janković moved up to be the current World No.2 after equalling her best results at Roland Garros and Wimbledon this year, semi finals and round of 16 respectively. The 2001 Girls ITF Junior World No.1 achieved her best Women’s Grand Slam result in 2008 by making the women’s singles final at the US Open. Janković won the Junior Australian Open singles title, so seems to post her best results on hard courts making her a player to watch throughout the hard court season.

The WTA ranking points and prize money (in US dollars) for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 800 points + $350,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 550 points + $175,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 350 points + $87,500;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 200 points + $40,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 110 points + $20,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 60 points + $10,275;
  7. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 1 point + $5,400.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $1,500 and 1 ranking point. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $2,900 and 20 points. The players who qualify earn 30 points and at least $5,400.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 30 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their first match, only earn 1 point. In fact, all players who lose in any 1st round earn 1 ranking point, besides a player who qualifies for the main draw of the singles event, including wild card entrants in both the main draw and the qualifying singles draw.

The matches each day are played in a day session beginning at 10am or 11am on most days and a night session starting at 7pm from Monday to Saturday. All of the times for each day are listed below. The first two days of the tournament feature the qualifying event.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the 2010 Cincinnati Women’s singles event (W&SFG) is:

  • Saturday 7 August: Qualifying 1st round from 10am;
  • Sunday 8 August: Qualifying 2nd round from 10am;
  • Monday 9 August: Main Draw 1st round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Tuesday 10 August: 1st & 2nd round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Wednesday 11 August: 2nd round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Thursday 12 August: Round of 16 from 1oam & 7pm;
  • Friday 13 August: Quarter Finals from 10am & 7pm;
  • Saturday 14 August: 1st Semi at 1pm & 2nd Semi Final at 7pm;
  • Sunday 15 August: Women’s Singles Final at 3pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for more coverage of both the men’s and women’s events in Cincinnati. Click this link for the details thus far-> Cincinnati 2010: August 7 – 22.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: thestevelau

Share this link!