Indian Wells 2011 Women’s Singles Draw: Qualifiers

The 2011 Indian Wells Open women’s qualifying singles event began on Monday 7 March and was completed on Tuesday 8 March. The qualifying began with 48 players battling for the 12 spots allocated to qualifiers in the main draw of the singles event.

The official tournament name of Indian Wells is the BNP Paribas Open due to title sponsorship naming rights. To qualify for the main draw you must win 2 matches in a row in the qualifying event in the best-of-3 sets format. Of the 24 seeds in the qualifying 9 of them were defeated in the first round of qualifying, leaving the other 15 seeds amongst the 24 players in “The Qualifying Round”.

The Qualifying Round is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. In the Qualifying Round 8 of the Top 12 seeds that were expected to qualify won through to the main draw. Just one seed from the 12 seeds ranging from 13-24 qualified, No.19 seed Kirsten FLIPKENS.

Three unseeded players qualified including American Jamie HAMPTON, Misaki DOI and Nuria LLAGOSTERA VIVES, whilst all 5 of the 6 wild cards lost in the 1st round of qualifying and American wild card Madison Keys lost at the final hurdle. The highest ranked player to lose in the qualifying round was No.4 seed Mathilde Johansson, which means she will be the first player selected to take a Lucky Loser spot in the main draw if any player withdraws before her 1st round match.

If you need any further details about INDIAN WELLS please leave a comment. Click this link to follow this site in real time on Twitter @OnCourtAd and click this link to join the friends of this site on Facebook OnCourtAdvantage.

Any player whose name is italicised, has her first name removed and has her surname in lower case letters is a seeded player who was expected to win through to qualify for the main draw. The names that are bolded and listed first are those who successfully qualified and gained entry into the main draw.

To see the FULL 2011 Indian Wells Women’s Schedule of Play, prize money and WTA ranking points earned per round plus more details about the qualifying event click-> Indian Wells 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play.

The 2011 Indian Wells Open Women’s 2nd or final round of qualifying singles results are:

  1. (1) Rebecca MARINO defeated Petra CETKOVSKA (13) Razzano
  2. (2) Monica NICULESCU def. Kathrin WOERLE (17) Mayr-Achleitner
  3. (3) Alize CORNET def. (24) Vesna MANASIEVA
  4. (19) Kirsten FLIPKENS def. (4) Mathilde JOHANSSON
  5. Nuria LLAGOSTERA VIVES def. Olga SAVCHUK (5) Rodina
  6. (6) Scheepers Misaki DOI def. (16) Mirjana LUCIC
  7. (7) ZHANG Shuai def. Anastasia PIVOVAROVA
  8. (8) Lucie HRADECKA v (14) Petra MARTIC
  9. (9) Laura POUS-TIO v (WC) Madison KEYS
  10. Jamie HAMPTON def. (10) Ksenia PERVAK
  11. (11) Tamira PASZEK (11) v (15) Andrea HLAVACKOVA
  12. (12) Sorana CIRSTEA v (WC) Monica PUIG

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Indian Wells-> Indian Wells 2011: March 7-20.

© 2011

© photo credit: 6cab