Miami 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The Miami Open is the 4th MAJOR tournament of the “BIG 14” in 2011 for the women’s professional tennis tour. The 27th year of this event is being held at the Tennis Centre at Crandon Park in Miami-Dade County, in Florida, USA. The official name of Miami due to title sponsorship naming rights is the Sony Ericsson Open.

The 2011 Miami Open is a WTA Premier Mandatory category tournament played on Laykold Cushion Plus hard courts. A Premier Mandatory event is a combined tournament where the men’s and women’s tours both play at the same venue and at the same time. To put it into perspective in terms of the world famous Grand Slam tournaments, the winner of Miami is weighted above making a Grand Slam semi final. This is because the Miami winner earns more WTA ranking points and prize money in comparison.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage.

The women’s event begins on Monday March 21 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday April 2. The singles event has a 128-draw containing 96 players consisting of 76 direct acceptances, 12 Qualifiers and 8 Wild Cards.

There will be 32 seeded players who all receive a BYE in the 1st round. Therefore, 64 players play in the 1st round with the 32 winners joining the 32 seeds in the 2nd round. The 32 seeds are selected according to the WTA rankings as at 14 March 2011. The centre court has a seating capacity of 13,800 and the total prize money for the 2011 tournament is 4,500,000 US dollars.

The 2010 Miami Open Women’s singles champion was No.14 seed Kim Clijsters (pictured above) who defeated No.3 seed Venus Williams in the final 6-2 6-1.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

This is how the WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players for each round:

  1. The winner earns 1,000 points + $611,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 600 points + $298,200;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 360 + $149,450;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 180 + $76,195,
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 90 + $40,160;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 45 + $21,495;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 25 + $11,605;
  8. The 16 players who lose in the 1st round earn 10 points + $7,115.

The 2011 Miami Open schedule of play for the entire event is:

  • Monday 21 March: Qualifying Draw 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 22 March: Qualifying from 10am;
  • Wednesday 23 March: Main Draw 1st round from 10am and 7pm;
  • Thursday 24 March: 1st round from 10am and 7pm;
  • Friday 25 March: 2nd round from 10am and 7pm;
  • Saturday 26 March: 2nd round from 10am and 8pm;
  • Sunday 27March: 3rd round from 10am and 7pm;
  • Monday 28 March: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 29 March: Round of 16 from 11am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 30 March: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7pm;
  • Thursday 31 March: Quarter Finals from 1pm and 7pm;
  • Friday 1 April: Semi Finals from 12 noon and 7pm; and
  • Saturday 2 April: Women’s Singles Final at 12:30pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Miami-> Miami 2011: March 21-April 3.

Creative Commons License photo credit: 6cab

Share this link!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Miami Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.