Japan 2010 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 12th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour is the Japan Open in Tokyo. The Japan Open is called the Toray Pan Pacific Open, which is shortened to PPO and is held at the Ariake Tennis Forest Park in the Ariake Colosseum.The Ariake Colosseum has a retractable leaf-shaped roof and accommodates 10,000 spectators.

Pictured above is the 2009 Japan Open Women’s singles champion Maria SHARAPOVA who is focusing on the ball after positioning the ball in preparation for the swing phase of her service motion. The 1.83m Sharapova from Russia is a former World No.1 and has won 3 Grand Slam singles titles, Wimbledon in 2004, the US Open in 2006 and the Australian Open in 2008.

Sharapova has won the Tokyo PPO twice (also in 2005) and will be trying to defend her title against the rest of the Top 50 women in the world, including World No.1 Serena Williams who is returning to the WTA Tour for her first tournament after injury and for her first PPO of her career.

This tournament begins on Friday 24 September for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 2 October. The 1st round matches of the main draw begin on Saturday 26 September. The Qualifying draw will be announced at 4pm on Thursday 23 September and the Main Draw will be announced at 4pm on Friday 24 September.

The PPO has a 56-player main draw and a 32-player qualifying draw. In this post we will cover how the WTA Tour ranking points and prize money are allocated, and what the schedule of play is for the Women’s Singles Draw. The total prize money for the 2010 PPO in Japan for the women’s singles event is $2,000,000.

This year the PPO has been upgraded in terms of importance with an increase in the number of ranking points it commands. The winner earns 900 versus 800 in 2009. The runner-up earns 620 versus 550 in 2009. The semi finalists earn 395 versus 350 in 2009, The quarter finalists earn 225 versus 200 and the round of 16 players earn 125 points versus 110. The 2nd round losers earn 70 versus 60 in 2009. All of the other points allocations remain the same as last year.

The WTA ranking points and prize money (in US dollars) for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 900 points + $350,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 620 points + $175,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 395 points + $87,500;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 225 points + $40,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 125 points + $20,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 70 points + $10,275;
  7. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 1 point + $5,400.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $1,500 and 1 WTA ranking point. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $2,900 and 20 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn a minimum of $5,400 and 30 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 30 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 1 point. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 1 point.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 30 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 70 points for making the 2nd round plus 30 points for qualifying. Which means 100 points would be added to their ranking total.

The matches each day are played in a day session beginning from 10am to 11am except for on the final two days. For these two days the matches are all played on centre court with play beginning at 1pm on semi finals day and for The Final.

The first four days of the tournament feature the qualifying event. Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the 2010 Japan Open Women’s Singles event in Tokyo is:

  • Friday 24 September: Qualifying 1st round from 10am;
  • Saturday 25 September: Qualifying 2nd round from 10am;
  • Sunday 26 September: Main Draw 1st round from 10:30am;
  • Monday 27 September: 1st and 2nd round from 10:30am;
  • Tuesday 28 September: 2nd round from 10:30am;
  • Wednesday 29 September: Round of 16 from 10:30am;
  • Thursday 30 September: Quarter Finals from 11am;
  • Friday 1 October: Semi Finals from 1pm; and
  • Saturday 2 October: Women’s Singles Final at 1pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Japan Open -> Japan Open 2010: September 24-October 2.

© OnCourtAdvantage.com 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: jiazi